Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Pits of Mazow

by Azor1 - Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare. The theme I was following was 2-Button control. The theme inspired me to make the game very old-school in aesthetics.

I only ended up getting 2 short levels finished, but I'm happy with the completed game engine.



Controls can be changed in the options menu.

Next Menu Item/Turn around - Down

Select Menu Item/Jump - Right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#433Mood3.03
#510Overall3.20
#522Humor2.29
#525Fun3.10
#546Theme3.65
#569Graphics2.94
#605Audio2.29
#723Innovation2.71

Comments

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

This was awesome

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

Hey, neat concept. I liked the idea of toggling direction, and the other key for jumping, however it made me confused at first. I reread description though and got it, not at all your fault, my fault :D One other thing though, was that the game was really slow, dunno if that was the 15 windows I have open, or whether it was just a slow moving player.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07am

Boy those controls are awkward, but I blame the theme ^.^ Cute graphics. I would have liked if your guy could go faster.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Really cool game. Love the OG gameboy aesthetic, definitely took me back. Gameplay was very fun. Excellent work!

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Simple, but awesome !!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I really like the 8-bit feel to it. Nice game, cool concept aswell. Could use some music, maybe try beepbox.com ;)

gmisail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Seems like the game was kinda slow, and empty without at least sound effects. Overall, good game. I personally like the graphics too, basic as they may be

Azor1 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

There should have been sound effects for jumping, collecting stars, ect. What OS/version of java were you using?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Cool game, with great graphics!

However, the game was a little bit too slow for me and the hitboxes on the spikes were way too large.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The low framerate hurts my eyes

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Little confusing at first , but when you get the hang of it it's awesome.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04am

Love it! I find it odd how you can change directions mid jump but I guess it makes sense and adds more depth.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

Good use of the theme, and great job designing levels around your mechanics!

I wasn't quite up the skill level to collect some of those blips over the spikes, but I can see how it could be done.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

Well done! the controls are difficult, but once I got used to it, it was much better. Congrats on a job well done.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

This is fun, but it's very unforgiving to have lives in a game like this. I would have liked to keep playing, but not if I keep getting reset to the beginning. It would be nice to have some control over how high or long the jump is, since it can be quite tough to line up multiple jumps in a row.

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

Sounds were really loud and it was real short. My only complaints!

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56am

great! the controls were a bit confusing at first

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

Just Love super pixelated games :D

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17am

Great job for your first ludum dare! Some nice calm graphics. Although I think with music, it would be even cooler.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

Minimalist and funny. However the controls seem to me a little bit weird and awkward. Maybe if the player could walk more quickly, it could be really enjoyable. Neat ++

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44am

Awesome game!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice little platformer. You used direction really well. Jumps could have been less high. Also it could have been faster paced.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

i really liked the mechanic, i felt like the character movement was a little too slow.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Love games with simple art, nice entry. The controls are a little strange but It was funny. Good job!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice visual feel, but I find the controls tedious. I had more fun figuring them out in the menu than to control the caracter.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Nice little game here :) i enjoyed playing and the tricky controls made it more fun to focus on what i was doing :)

Well Done!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Pretty good platformer, a bit slow for me but the goal was clear and the levels were pretty challenging.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:38am

A good amount of gameplay out of the two buttons. I liked the dynamic of the jump being a known amount so that changing in midair made it really interesting. Thanks for sharing and I hope you keep working on it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]