Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Never Ending Balloon Bank

by rockybdubs - Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare!

A two button game where you shoot pins to pop balloons to gain coins and grow your bank. You can't lose! This is a NEVER ENDING balloon bank!!

CONTROLS:

SPACE:change direction of shooter platform
RETURN:shoot pins

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#465Humor2.39
#824Mood2.26
#879Theme2.96
#888Graphics1.88
#937Innovation1.76
#949Fun1.96
#963Overall2.13

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

I had no idea what I was doing, really.

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

I think the game need something more challenging, its too easy, developing! :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

balllooooooons!

Jynshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I liked it, it's got potential, maybe some updated art

Rogod says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Not sure what the point was, this has gained one of my lowest ratings because it basically isn't a game and looks like it was drawn in Paint and programmed with PowerPoint.
Not sure what took you 48 hours on this, but I could make this functionally in about 4 languages spending no more than 15 minutes on each.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Great practice for your next Jam!

mf1214 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:44am

Nice game, just needs more to do.

rockybdubs says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:53am

I had to learn how to program in 48 hours and learn paint! My next game will be taken to next level x10! Not to mention, had to take a 6 hour break to take my mom to a Grinch play. Geesh!!Thanks for the feedback Rogod!

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:22am

The controls were odd at first, but I got used to them quickly. Would be better if you could do something with the money, like upgrade your pin shooting or make more balloons spawn. Not being able to lose made the game less entertaining, and I found myself stopping relatively quickly.

Good use of both themes, though. I always love it when a game is able to use both in a noticeable way.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]