Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Greatest physics-based game that doesn't use real physics

by KunoNoOni - Compo Entry

Thank you for viewing this entry for the Two Button Control theme. PLEASE LEAVE FEEDBACK. :D


The previous game has been removed and the game developer has been sacked... and flogged... and tarred and feathered... We apologize for this inconvenience.

In its place we present to you "Greatest physics-based game that doesn't use real physics"!

It is a very simple game that was made in 8 hours and is a jolly good time!

All you need to do is rapidly press Num 1 & Num 2 buttons over and over to build speed. Once you are launched off the ramp you can stop pressing them and see how far you get!

The keyboard is recommended but you can use the mouse buttons or the joystick buttons if you wish.

The game is built to run at 1024 x 768 if you play in a lower screen size the text will look funny. Also the volume might be a little loud so it is recommended that you turn your volume down a little before playing, especially if you use headphones.


If you'd like to read the postmortem you can do so @ http://ludumdare.com/compo/?p=527439

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#246Humor2.89
#626Audio2.22
#773Theme3.31
#795Fun2.64
#829Mood2.24
#894Graphics1.81
#915Innovation2.07
#918Overall2.55

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

WOOT! Made it to 8. Great idea. Loved it. Good Sound. Made me laugh.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36am

OSX version wouldn't open at all, just FYI, but the WebGL one was fine. My best was about 12.5. A fun little game, quick and to the point. Pretty impressive for 8 hours but yeah, it's short. The sound is kind of minimalist and funny too.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36am

I'll ragevote your game ;). Jokes aside, I think that the game works well, and the title is a good catch to lure people into it. Got close to 9. And, BTW, the Linux build works, as usual ;).

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50pm

@ruthiepee Thank you for letting me know about the Mac Version. I'll see what I can do to get to working.

@pvwradtke Thank you for letting me know the Linux version does work.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:45am

Top kek

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02am

Unfortunately there's not a whole lot to this game, after a few jumps I got bored. Some progression would be awesome, such as upgrades to help you jump further the next time. Graphics could be a bit more detailed than simple shapes, but communicate the game. Audio's a bit harsh, particularly when the ball is rolling (sliding?) to halt.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:24am

I made it past the background into a light blue zone and then further into a dark blue zone where the ground didn't exist. The ball then fell endlessly into the void. It still falls now.

...

I liked the humor of the game, but I agree with cudabear that it could have used more content.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

@BoxedMeatRevolution Really?!? I never go past 12 myself. How did you do it?

As for the lack of gameplay, this game almost didn't exists. I have tried several times between friday and saturday to create something and had basically given up. Then I woke up on Sunday morning and had this idea. I worked on it all day minus 4 hours as I had something to take care of. So I only had about 8 hours to make it. Hmmm had I known it would be possible to get as far as you did I would have extended the play area.

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:25am

Nice little game, played fine in WebGL on OS/X Chrome for me.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:13am

made it to 15, very funny game, surprisingly engaging, well done :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:48pm

A rather standard game, though done a bit differently.

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:21am

Made it to 10! Not a unique idea but fun in its execution, good job! :)

adaFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:22am

I managed a little past 10. Fun little game; I'm glad you managed to get this up despite the difficulties you were having.

Mat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:41am

Funny and well done for a 8h work.
Reminds me the Homerun Smash in SSB

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:43am

I got past 20 by the way. So, if you stop before the ramp, you can keep going after the lose screen. Then, you slowly go up the ramp, but not all the way to the top. After that, you slowly slide down said ramp, and occasionally push yourself back up a bit. Eventually you start to clip into the ramp, and as soon as it says you are going 10 speed and at the same time you are going down the top of the ramp while still near the top, spam 1 + 2 and then you shoot off the edge. Great game though. This is legit the most fun I've had so far, and not just because I broke it. ;)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:51am

@SkullPixel LOL! Yeah I never thought of that at all :) Thanks for letting me know.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:22am

I got 11!!1!1!!11!1!

Better workout than Wii fit.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:23am

The graphics and audio aren't very tolerable. The gameplay is very basic, broken, not very enjoyable.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:26am

Impressive considering it was only made in 8 hours and not 48 :) Some of the sound effects are annoying though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:18am

9+ - nice work - simple and fun

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:15am

Made it to 10 ;) Nice little game!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:36pm

To fix the OSX version compress it with a tool that is not RAR. rar does not preserve unix file info and makes it unrunnable. Use zip or 7zip instead

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:52pm

And now for an actual review. I got to 10.5. This is simple but it gets the job done. It's internally consistent style-wise which is good. Nice.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:05pm

@zenmumbler Really? I did not know that. Thank you I will update the Mac Build now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]