Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Venus and the Flies

by fractalbear - Jam Entry

Venus is hungry, very hungry!

Feed her flies, but don't be too greedy now...

Left and right arrow keys to control.

(download recommended)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Theme(Jam)4.34
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#382Graphics(Jam)3.69
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#573Fun(Jam)3.09
#677Humor(Jam)2.34
#718Mood(Jam)2.98
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I love the venus model and animations!
The stem and leaves generation looks pretty cool too.
Wish it had some audio though, would add a ton moodwise.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Very cool idea. Lacks the motivation though. There should be some goal or some life bar or something. But great execution.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

graphically its great, the controls could feel a little faster and i think that would make it more fun. the lack of sound really took away from the overall through, i liked the growing mechanic but felt as a game it really only kept my attention for a minute.

maybe some kind of goals could appear, instead of dying you could shrink when you don't have enough flies, and you have gaps you have to be small enough to fit through sporadically or creatures you have to be big enough to scare away,

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Wow. I have no clue how that procedural generation stuff works, but well done!

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

While I was thinking about the jam theme I remebered about this film, 'Little Shop of Horrors'. Cool

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Thanks so much for playing guys! Yeah totally agree I need to add more gameplay and music/sound would be awesome. Hope you enjoyed the visuals though :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Great feeling with this game. Well done !

uncade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I enjoyed this, it kinda feels like a small interactive art piece.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

it definatly would need some progress/life/foodbar. right now i have no idea what i´m.... wait, a fly *nomnomnom*

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Well this is experience! Alright, yes, no audio and score or something, but damn, look at this epic ending and monster-plant growing animation. You did a really nice job, I mean it.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

That you so much for the kind words guys, massively appreciated :D

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

That you = Thank you! Editing comments would definitely be a good feature...

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08am

Nom nom nom!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Really nice rendering of the plant! Congrats!

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32am

I enjoyed this game a lot! It felt very satisfying to chomp my way through clouds of flies with my ever-growing jaws. I got HUGE, and could really feel the weight dragging down on me. Wish there was some indicator, though, how close I was to death at any given moment. Maybe a gauge or something at the bottom. Anyway, loved the low-poly style! Nice work incorporating both themes so well, too!

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:34am

I enjoyed this game a lot! It felt very satisfying to chomp my way through clouds of flies with my ever-growing jaws. I got HUGE, and could really feel the weight dragging down on me. Wish there was some indicator, though, how close I was to death at any given moment. Maybe a gauge or something at the bottom. Anyway, loved the low-poly style! Nice work incorporating both themes, too

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11pm

As prev said, a subtle motivationnal hint, a bit more backdrop would make it deeper. Very nice entry.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:32pm

At first I thought it would go on forever and with no score visible I wasn't having much fun. But then when I finally stopped being able to reach any flied I realised I could lose so I went back and tried again. Not bad, I would have enjoyed more if there was sound and a score.

Gins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Great animation! Feels really good to chomp these pesky flies :3

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42pm

A really good feeling, simple but really cool !
Thank you !

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Really cool game and nice idea.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:48pm

The plant is great. The spawning and growing leaves. the twisting of the trunk. Found myself just staring at it. Maths is beautiful.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Nice concept and very indeed creative, I hope it can be more extreme :).

Nice job btw.

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Good game, good graphics. Unfortunately, the game does contains information about my score or life or anything. :( I haven't goal. Another negative thing is the sound. :(

fractalbear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Thanks so much for the feedback! I deliberately didn't include score as I wanted this to be more of an experience rather than a traditional game, but I can see now more feedback (of some kind) is needed to guide the player. Totally agree sound and a nice backdrop are really needed and hope to add them soon :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Give me a score!!! This fly crunching feels so nice but it would be so nicer if it made a number go up! Looks amazing too. Great!

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06pm

It would be nice to have a goal, score, or an indication of how big the plant grew when you die. I like the concept and I think adding sound effects and some goal or scoring would take it up a few more notches. Neat idea.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Yeah you're right! Gonna add a score :D

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I really liked the procedural low-poly plant! Its definetly missing a background though - mood-wise and for making the flies more visible. Also missed the opportunity for munchy sounds or some procedural music ;) Some obstacles and a goal/motivation would spice up the gameplay.

Soka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Pretty neat game, low replayability tho :( at least for me, the graphics are awesome tho so good job on that <3 and was fun while it lasted, you can always have some "fly murderer" moments

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:54pm

A High Score system would be a necessary addition. I like the swarming flies though. And you combined the themes which is cool.

nosfer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

My game is also about growing flower! I love the tech around your game. I also agree player needs some kind of motivation like health bar and maybe changing speed.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Very cool little game! I really love how it grows. And pretty much the same as the other comments said - needs replayability ;)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Great take on the theme, probably the simplest game I played so far but pretty entertaining. I love the design of the venus fly trap. It doesn't seem to have any sound though.

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Nice game. Gameplay is great.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Nice plant)

DevDad says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:31pm

What makes this game so good is that it is simple in its gameplay.

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Cool to see the animation and growth of the plant, is challenging to catch the flies at first. Good job! :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:09am

man, that vine visibly twisting really makes this games feel polished, nice job!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:14am

Great game man! I really liked the low-poly art style and the particles of blood popping out of the blue dots (fairies to me).
The twisting plant sure adds some mood to the game!

To bad it didn't have any music or points!

Great job man, keep up with your great work!
Once again thanks to play our game!

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:21am

I sure felt like a twisting growing Venus fly trap. Cool concept would love to see it taken further.

MartianGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Gorgeous graphics, relaxing, beautiful experience overall.

JenniNexus says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Liked it a lot! The download gave me a 404 error though (tried it after the webGL version lagged.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I agree - cool animation, and the lack of some form of motivation - Health to gain/lose as eat/grow. Escaped flies. Also, sound would help set the mood more. Awesome models, and game play (what was there) was rather cool.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Really nice idea! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]