Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Poultry Punt

by diest - Jam Entry

How far can you punt the poultry?!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Game by:
Michael van Diest & Kurt Gietzen

Music by:
zac @meltycanon

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Controls:
S and K
thats it! on screen prompts will tell you what they do!
hit bombs to travel further and maximize your score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Fun(Jam)4.09
#50Humor(Jam)3.95
#120Overall(Jam)3.82
#146Graphics(Jam)4.14
#171Audio(Jam)3.64
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Love it, very satisfying poultry-punting game. Wish the camera would be more to the right of the chicken so I could see more of what's coming as opposed to what has already passed.

Sink says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03am

very fun game i like it a lot i am very glad you have upgrades because it added a lot of replayability beyond getting a high score. very nice ;

Fervir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Pretty comfy game, I really liked the chill music.
It's amusing to just watching the chicken goooooooooo

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

this game was really good! i liked how it really incentivized you to smash on the s key but then had to time the k press correctly to actually hit the chicken, so using two fingers to smash became this really interesting timing game.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

I sank way more time into this than I expected to. RNG can let the chicken get a massive head-start sometimes - my best attempt was one where the chicken hit ~6 bombs before it had even touched the ground.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Not really original, but a fun implementation of the theme and a really well done game overall.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

One thing I noticed is that the game seems to eventually lock up - I can usually get about 5-10 minutes of gameplay out of it before the chicken apparently hits the ground the wrong way and the whole thing stops responding. You have to stop it from the task manager to get the music to stop playing.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

It's a well done game! Very satisfying when you get a lucky shot, and the chicken flies sooo far..

hydancer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I played this for like half an hour and I really shouldn't have. It's simple and not that innovative but the execution was good.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Very cool game! It was really fun to play it

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:23am

Cool game, loved the graphics and overall polish. Good job!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:55am

The sound design is very good! The mechanics are simple but well executed. I like this game. Good job!

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:08am

Fun! Hahaha, I reached 6299 in the 3rd try and didn't manage to get to it again. Very nice game! Art, physics, humor. Nice job!

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Great game!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:20pm

This is great! Loved the graphics and the soundtrack, the camera handling made me quite satisfied too. :P

Gotta say I've become quite hooked on this. Great work!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Seems like it is mostly chance based, but it's still pretty thrilling when you hit a good run of bombs and the chicken just keeps going and going... I got to over 11000m one time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]