Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness: A modular Audio Sound Scape

by SineGlitch - Jam Entry

In Darkness you will be walking through the world listening to the environment. The Sound is modular so take your time and enjoy the soundscape!

CONTROLS: UP ARROW and LEFT SHIFT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Audio(Jam)4.13
#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#684Graphics(Jam)3.13
#810Theme(Jam)3.29
#872Fun(Jam)2.68
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Husky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27am

This is interesting, I like the mood you made, fog is a magic, it's working like a charm in lot of horror movies and games. :)

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

this is actually quite stunning. it may not be the perfect shape for me, but I can see myself exploring Brian Eno for example in different directions, at different speeds... 5 for innovation easily. Amazing job!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Keep going

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

I get "The Unity player does not work on your system". Chrome on Linux.

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30am

I like the atmosphere, but, while I understand you were following the theme, I think that having a full directional movement helps a lot in setting a mood (in that spookiness is tied to accountability, and the player is not accountable while on a rail). Aside from that, nice work!

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09am

Thanks for the spooky experience :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31am

Nice spooky atmosphere! Good use of sounds to build the tension of the mood.

shrapx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

interesting, i wasnt sure if i was going to fast or too slow to take it in, its an interesting idea and the sound was varied along the way, but i didnt really get much of a story from the sounds, the swampy location i imagined but the other areas i didnt really imagine much. i do like it though :3

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Next time, make sure your quickplay links directly to the game. Having to click through a site is a bit annoying.

Anyway, nice experience.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Great mood that made me yearn for a more interactive experience. Hope you'll continue to develop your sound skills!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Five stars for the mood, but nothing else...
This is an interesting experience, but I would like to play.
Overall, it's great. Well done ++

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Interesting experiment. Graphics are minimalist but fit the mood pretty well. Would be great to see this sort of sound design in a more fleshed out game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]