Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Puff' n Go

by DonEngland - Jam Entry

Navigate your puffer fish through the obstacles. Collect sucker fish to increase the multiplier on your score, but watch out. The sucker fish will make it harder to swim.

Solo project, created all code, art, and sound within the jam.

Two button controls:
Swim: w, up
Puff: s, down

Tools:
Unity5
Visual Studio
Photoshop
Blender (for faster sucker animation, and tiling obstacle)
bfxr
Earl Grey (hot tea)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#482Humor(Jam)2.70
#572Graphics(Jam)3.34
#665Audio(Jam)2.46
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#987Innovation(Jam)2.25

Comments

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Fun game! I felt kinda sorry for the pufferfish for getting all those suckerfish on it. But hey, high scores are at stake. =p

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Cool! Flappy bird with a twist! I like how both mechanics are mixed, and the art is quite nice too! A background music would have been great tough :) Keep up the good work!

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Neat implementation of the Flappy Bird formula with additional elements. Could use some music :(

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:07am

Sound is annoying ;s

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13am

Cool!

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45am

Hahah nice little game, cool use of the themes :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48am

Nice take on the theme! I suck at this kind of game though! My highest score was 7... =/
Nice mechanics, I liked what you did with the suckerfishes, really clever. Congrats!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17am

Good implementation of Flappy Birds mechanics, but a little too slow..

jeff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17am

Quite difficult but a very nice game!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11pm

flappy fish :). I'd say controls just need a little tweaking. Great game though. I played lots. still suck at it lol :)

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18pm

simple yet effective flappy bird upgrade

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:45am

cool idea!
make flappy bird more challenge~
but this time is Puffer!!!!!!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Good version of Flappy Birds!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

The sucker fish are a cool twist on the Flappy Bird formula - it kinda didn't feel like I had a way to avoid them between dodging columns, but I guess that was part of the challenge. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]