Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Up

by stevepctech - Compo Entry

The goal of this game is to grow your plant from a seed and reach the surface above. The player must dodge rocks placed above them by "leaning" the plant left or right as it grows (only two buttons required). There are three difficulties: easy, medium, and hard, which can be selected at the start of the game. The hardest difficulty generates a random map every round.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#143Theme4.12
#323Innovation3.40
#345Overall3.40
#364Graphics3.32
#392Fun3.27
#444Mood3.00

Comments

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Intriguing concept. Speed up mechanic is interesting.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

A little difficult at first but once you got the hang of flying it was alright. Not sure how scoring works? I think I went from 11 points down to 5 up to 6 and then 8. Any insight?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

I like the game! It's fairly easy on easy but super hard on hard. Like the difference was extremely obvious when I switched. Many times when playing on hard, I would get get a wall of rocks and I couldn't avoid them. Other than that, good work!

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

Great work! Two buttons game with plant, most typical game in this ld34! The graphics looks really nice. The ending is impressive!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49am

Great entry! Nice take on the combination of themes.

The hard mode is something fierce.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very nice indeed. Looks amazing and gameplay is fun.

tedling says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This game is awesome! It uses the two themes really good and the look and feel is great, too.

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

I wanted to keep going skyward.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

Wow! there are a lot of trees going through some serious struggles before being fully grown this LD. Great entry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

I liked the game-play at easy heaps :D green mode was really fun, however I think the red difficulty is beyond difficult and instead is impossible... idk maybe you can do it but I cant see whats ahead of me at all :D overall though it was a good looking, short and fun game.

stevepctech says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35am

Thank you all for playing my game! Sorry the hard mode is too difficult, I realized it can be impossible to reach the top because of its random nature. I recommend medium, since it's basically hard mode with a set (and possible!) path every time.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Ending makes it worth! Like in life ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]