Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Where Are Meow Friends

by RedBricksStudio - Jam Entry

This is the result of our first Game Jam. It's a little game about cats and dogs, and growing with your

Run through the dungeon and rescue your friends. But be careful! The more cats you rescue, the more difficult it is to move through the dungeon...

CONTROLS: WASD to move, R to reset the level

We hope you enjoy it!

CREDITS
=======================

Programming and Montage:

- Álvaro Bermejo (alvarber.github.io)
- Pedro García (https://github.com/pegartillo95)
- Borja Lorente (blorente.github.io)

Concept Art and Sprites:

- Nayla Novotny (www.artstation.com/artist/naylanovotny)
- Andrés Loeches (Lady Arrea)

Music and SFX:

- Jesús García Plata (Cinvira)

KNOWN ISSUES (that will be solved. Eventually):
===============================================
- The IA detection fails sometimes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#474Graphics(Jam)3.54
#627Humor(Jam)2.45
#765Innovation(Jam)2.75
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#864Overall(Jam)2.91
#1010Theme(Jam)2.71
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Nice game, I really liked the music!

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I'm sorry, it tells me that "The unity player does not run on your system" - Chrome on Linux.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Fun to play! Controls are a little laggy.
Cool game!

RevelBase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

meow

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Fun game! The way my cat friends stacked up next to me made moving around a bit of a challenge, and it seemed like sometimes, I was being caught by the wolf when he hadn't touched me at all, but the game was cute! And the audio was good, too.

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

I really enjoy the artistic style and cat animations!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

*Calls the cat, loves her* "meow, meow"...game? wut game? kidding, I liked it!!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Never thought I'd play a game about herding cats. Good job!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20pm

It's a nice game. I just didn't get whether the cat friends were meant to stack up to the player so you couldn't pass just anywhere or not.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Cute kittens, nice idea, my kid was enjoyed)

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:35pm

nice entry, it's a pity the cats get bocked sometimes for no obvious reasons?
I guess that you could probably remove the wolves and it would still be a challenging game just with the cats stacking up (but more like puzzle type)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

your cats are so cute) nice game, well done!

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Cats! Need i say more?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]