Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Temple of the Anonymous Evil Elder God

by kardfogu - Jam Entry

Hello everyone, Kardfogú's here!

This is my third solo jam so far, normally I work under the flags of Creative Sectors - check them out, they are awesome -, but this time it is different. The rest of the team are working on another Ludum Dare jam entry and I'm working on one alone as well.

Gameplay tips: /* You'll really need them if you want to finish fast! */
- buy potions, the cute lewd priestess is selling them
- craft wooden equip as soon as you can, the dwarf in the city helps with that
- save often
- save really often
- listen to what the non-player characters say, a lot of it is important

Let me continue with the special thanks:
- My grandma, becase she is the best and she fed during this 3 day and in general kept me alive. She is awesome.
- My senior for keeping the systems alive at my workplace while I developed this game.
- Kittens all over the world, they even helped me this time.

The latest+2 generation RPG, Temple of the Anonymous Evil Elder God brings everyone the absolute best RPG experience ever. Released for windows and consoles so new they don't even exist, Temple of the Anonymous Evil Elder God continues - actually there is no connection - the Slashalot saga with an epic story to behold.
/*Except, this time we actually have a story to begin with!*/

Play as Owel a warrior of Neighboria and do good stuff! Also, marry hot pixelated girls!

Lastly, but not least importantly, I can't release a Ludum Dare project without its anti-features.
- Actual gameplay! My very first actual Ludum Dare entry with combat system.
- Wondrous items of might and magic, I think there is like over ~30 items in the game!
- Slightly overdressed mithologycal japanese folklore creature!
- Slightly lewd priestess.
/* It's a returning tradition, I can't release an entry without bad girls, like you can't have a James Bond movie without proper ladies */
- There are no mythologically accurate - that is to say underdressed - female monsters this time, my apologies. We might later add that in a post-LD version.
- Really low quality sounds and music!
- Non-animated grass, because I was lazy this time!
- Not-so-linear actually open world-ish gameplay!
- Secret ending!
- The base game includes lots of recolored enemies!

Downloads and Links




kardfogu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Minor bug fixed: There was a missing travel point at the Temple Entrance.

kardfogu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Minor bug fixed: Frostbite wasn't supposed to hit everyone...

kardfogu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Balance: Frostbite slightly nerfed...

kardfogu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Minor bug fixed: Undead now attacks player on touch.
Minor bug fixed: Event running dialogue for Descending fixed.
Minor bug fixed: Event running dialogue for Finale fixed.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Different take on the whole two button concept. Nice. Liked the little character graphics and the gentle background music.

ragnta says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Awesome game, but the Necrotic Sludge Slime King is invulnerable. :( Is it a bug? If I open the door behind of Slime King the game is crashed :(

kardfogu says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Well, I fixed a couple of things about the game.
Minor bug fixed: Necrotic Sludge Slime now disappear after being defeated.
Minor bug fixed: Vengeful Blizzard now targets enemies correctly.

Could you tell me more about those bugs?
As for the Slime King, I'm not sure what do you mean by invulnerable. It forgot to despawn, but it can be defeated.
As for the crash, if you don't write anything more about it, I can't fix it, if there is an error message, write down its content please!

Piscythe says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Even though Hailstorm is the most OP thing, I'm glad I had it because that fire dungeon looked like a grindfest. Instead, I was able to one-shot everything except some of the slimes with a 0-cost all-targeting ability. So did the undead dungeon, but I just rushed through that and then one-shotted the final boss with Ardent Strike. At least I had to switch to Vengeful Blizzard / Unlimited Potions to quickly deal with the undead trash.

Also, your female character writing has some serious issues. I cringed every time the priestess said something, and the Yuki-Onna wasn't that much better.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:58pm

The whole game became a grindfest so I improved skills a bit to hasten up the gameplay at the cost of balance. As for a Ludum Dare project, people shouldn't take anything close to an hour finishing a game and mine was almost that long. It was a last moment type of fix, next time I'll make the game less grindy.

About the female characters, I never take writing seriously for Ludum Dare, the issues you see there are intentional. I know how to shape strong, individual females, but they have no time to shine in a game which takes 30 minutes to finish.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Can't play windows games, so I can't rate. Very unfortunate because it looks like you did agood job...

NIGIC says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Soft-locked while grabbing a molten thing in the middle-left part of the volcano.

I'd forgotten just how sluggish the RMXP battle system was. Don't miss it at all.

Anyway. Fairly solid game overall. Writing is simple and light-hearted, and does the job well. Feels a bit grindy, until you realize that most of those fights (and the gear itself) are pretty much pointless in the end.

Good job with the ending. I was totally joking and not expecting anything to happen when I went for a third option. Welp.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:57pm

@Rex Peppers
I think there is a way to run RMXP games on Linux/MacOS, next time I'll be prepared for that as well. Thank you for pointing out!

Thank you, yeah, lighthearted it is, that is the best wording for that. Regarding the battle system, I totally know how you feel, it tends to annoy me as well sometimes. =^-^'=
About the ending, good job finding it! Most of my testers failed to find it on their own! xD

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:22pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It was quite long to finish this gem, more than one and a half hour is longer than the average entries here. Where I was lack of interest is the testing behaviour, that I usually play with Ludum Dare games to see all the possibilities. There was a couple of items and maps with enemies, but I end up consuming a lot of time with battles and healing. It was an interesting twist with the two living buttons concept and I like the conversations except the unmoral priestess.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:45pm

@Creative Sectors
Yeah, the priestess. She's really awful, but believe me, years later we are going to laugh a lot on how bad she is. =^-^=

mockthebear says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:47pm

I am not even a bit fan of that kind of game. But honestly, seems preety well done for a jam and a game of kind! :]

Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I'm happy to see someone who uses RPG Maker too! I submited a game with this tool, and I know how much did you work for making this game. Good work with the graphics, you did a lot. I'd have spent more time on the music though, but maybe because I love music :P
I appreciate your hard work on the battles. For me, it's impossible to adapt the difficulty for enemies, I always end making them impossible or too easy.
The plot about the two buttons was great!
Now some tips for players:Yoko and his Vengeful blizzardstorm toghether with the unlimited potion from the priestes makes the game easy.
I think I got the alternative ending. I got 3 endings. Are there more?
Good job, you worked really hard! Keep it up!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:31am

+ Nice graphics
+ Fun story, though a bit confusing
+ Clever twist of the theme
- Too long to beat >.<
- Too many creeps at the temple... I started avoiding all of them in the 2nd floor
o Music is very low

Awesome job! Keep up the good work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:49am

As an RPG Maker XP game, this needs to have some battle animations and some more extra polish, but I understand those omissions with the development time limit.

Plus, the endgame was easy, considering I steamrolled all the enemies with the AOE attacks.

Otherwise, the theme implementation is nice. Two buttons vying to take control of the main character.

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:56am

A great rpg for a jam. Maybe a bit long to beat but a really nice work.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:22pm

@Cluster Parable
Had to make it easier with some cheesy loopholes as my game was way too long even with that much help. As the dev it took me ~45 mins to finish my own game so I decided that some extra help should be there for the raters.

Thank you, I really appreciate your points. I myself think that my graphics are slightly underwhelming, but after all these comments I feel I did "close enough" in that regard.

Yeah, the battle animations and the whole absence of sounds - except for music - needs a lot of extra polish I agree with you.

Thank you very much!

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Just played through the whole game and took notes. Normally I take my notes and rewrite them, but I have lots of notes and not much time left before judging is over. Here you go, unfiltered notes (in order):

Would be easier to follow dialogue if characters were marked by portraits or differently colored names

Very annoying battle music

It only asks you if you want to travel to a location once, better if there was just a sign

Interesting story, great use of theme

Funny item names, liked rusty wooden fork especially

Should say how many materials you need for things

Liked having a healer in the forest

Should automatically heal after every battle, going back to the npc was tedious

"I am the conductor of the poop train!"

Liked having the enemies on the map instead of random encounters, but wish there was a way to spawn in more at any time for grinding reasons

What kind of name is Owel

Should notify you when you get a new skill

The slimes are so happy :D

Like the differences of skills

Walking through the forest maze and back is very irritating

Don't understand the differences between blunt, piercing, and slashing weapons; I could find out on my own, but an explanation would've been nice

Would love some boss music, even if it was just a slightly different version of the main battle theme

Healing potions restore tons of health, thank you!

This axe does way more damage than my spoon; I guess that's to be expected, but holy crap

= Beat the slime boss with full wood equipment and axe

Excaliborg? But I only just got this axe! doubles my current attack? Oh no.

= Beat the cruel ember, he didn't stand a chance.

The new party member's name makes me think of tacos

Hailstorm OP

I like the arrows on the doors, I would've gone wandering into every wall if it weren't for them

Just noticed the background for the inside of the volcano is the outside of a volcano

These battles are getting very annoying, not sure if I'm too strong

The game says I have 30 minutes of playtime now, that's long for a LD game

Picked up a lava bucket to the far-left (the one guarded by a fire) and now I cant move

My last save was at the start of the volcano, this time through I'll go straight to the boss instead of fighting every enemy

The only battles that take more than 1 turn are the ones with fire slimes. Those take 2.

There isn't even a boss here, just a bunch of lava buckets

= Got the lava buckets at the end of the volcano

I wish I had an escape rope like in Pokemon

= Entered the temple

There's the weapon description I wanted earlier

Hailstorm is now completely useless, thank goodness

Vengeful blizzard is ridiculous, but at least it costs mana

I have a lot of mana

Exploited the healer, everything is free now. There's weirdly no big punishment for doing this... does this alter the ending or something?

= Beat the second slime boss in 3 turns

Hahaha, that ending. I've seen it done before, but it completely caught me off guard anyway. I expect there's a 3rd ending somewhere, but I won't get around to that until after the rating is over. Good game!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 4:49pm

@Viking Games:
Well, quite a long story there.
In regard of difficulty and power, I toned done diff and toned up skill power so that the game will take slightly less time to beat, I know that Hailstorm and Vengeful Blizzard became ridiculous, but that was the cost to make the game ~30-60 min shorter.

Exploiting the healer, another short cut so that people won't have to grind money in order to finish the game.

Every other mistake there is already known, but developing this kind of game takes a lot of time at this rate alone so I had no time to finish the music and audio and similar things.

About the ending, yes, there is a third ending there, just leave the room, don't push anything, just leave!

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]