Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Careful with that watering can, Trevor!

by antglynn - Compo Entry

Help Trevor navigate his way back home in this short & simple puzzle game.
Collect watering cans and use them to grow plants, in order to create a route through each level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Fun3.90
#76Theme4.24
#116Innovation3.81
#137Overall3.73
#161Mood3.50
#401Graphics3.24
#543Audio2.50
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Short and sweet. My only complaint about this game is that I wish there were more of it. Simple, easy-to-pick-up mechanics, appealing pixel art, and clever puzzles. My instinct to grab collectible things did not serve me well here. I could see a post-compo version of this becoming a successful web game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21pm

awesome! fun, challenging and innovative, well done

DugelStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23pm

good, but the game is short and puzzles very easy.

JLET says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Pleasant game, more level would be appreciated and a dedicated button to reload the level faster.

farnsworth2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33pm

A well made game. I ran into an issue with the web player (On Internet Explorer) where the game area was larger than the window, so there were slider bars to move to the left and right side of the game screen. That's not major though, and the puzzles were well thought out and enjoyable.

A lot of red herrings in some of the puzzles, which really made you think about the order of operations.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

level design, graphics, sounds, all good, the puzzles are fun, incredible work! well done =D

Lizandros says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice game. It teach me - not always get all you can get :)

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Fun little puzzle game, short and sweet. Sound is kind of jarring, but art is cute and overall fun. Good use of the theme(s)!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I would have played this for much longer. Really clever level design.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Short and fun. I really liked how you made this game. It's an excelent puzzle game with a neat mechanic. My biggest complaint with this game was the lack of maps. Otherwise it was awesome :D

Enchae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17am

I like it! It's very simple, and it follows the theme very well.

But graphics and music? meh.

I do wish there was more to it though, because it was very enjoyable. Good job!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22am

Short but really sweet. I want to see more of this.

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Great! Wish it was longer.

anael says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:55am

Cute and fun, I wish there was more levels!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:49am

Clever! I got stuck pretty early, I'm afraid, but I really like the way it uses the two-button controls to force you to plan your route carefully.

kowalski says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:21am

Cute graphics and simple principle. Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]