Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Avoid

by Dovyski - Jam Entry

In a dark and zombie-infested place, you must conduct the survivors to a safe location. You don't have guns, just your brain and the ability to draw the path you want the survivors to follow.

Try and adjust your strategy until you sneak all survivors through the exit door.

-- Controls --

Click a survivor and drag him to the exit destination (bottom right of the screen). As you drag, a path will appear on the screen. That path will be used by the survivor to reach the exit destination.

Click the "PLAY" button (bottom left of the screen) to make survivors follow the path you created. If anything goes wrong, click the PLAY button again to start over; you can create a new path by dragging a survivor again (the old path will be erased).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#452Audio(Jam)3.14
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#636Humor(Jam)2.43
#829Overall(Jam)2.97
#848Fun(Jam)2.72
#1092Theme(Jam)2.10

Comments

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Im a nut for zombies so I loved the concept for sure. Some randomization in the sounds would have been a good touch as I found myself muting. Fun trial and error game for sure though.

timburbank says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:41am

Ooh, that was interesting gameplay. I wouldn't have thought to use Phaser in that way. Sometimes it felt more like I was controlling robots than zombie survivors, when they bounced of the cars and didn't know what to do, but the puzzle solving aspect worked well.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:39pm

@bitdecaygames Thanks! About the sound, I've tried to make it random, but I think the interval between zombie noises is too short.

@timburbank Awesome, thanks! Yeah, they are a bit robotic right now. I didn't have the time to fix that, but I will definitely fix this annoying detail.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Neat! I liked the idea. It was a little hard to understand how the zombies moved, so solutions felt a little more like luck to me than skill, but I did enjoy manipulating the paths to make things work. Nicely done.

Jajo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I'll be honest, I did draw a few funny patterns :)
Overall, I think you did a decent job. May require some polishing. I didn't hear any audio, so I'm not sure if that's a bug, or you didn't actually make any audio?

mar3k says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:08pm

I love the idea, quite unique puzzle game. Good job!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:08pm

The game is a bit buggy to play. Whenever the survivor touches an object he just kind of slides in one direction. If the touch each other they also mess each other up.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:11pm

A very innovation gameplay. Great graphics and solid game, good work!!

phi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Nice idea. Sometimes the survivors aren't following the path although they haven't bounced a car or a zombie... Is it a bug or do I have to consider it to find the solution?
Missed the music a bit and didn't see the relation to the theme very much. However I like the graphics!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:18pm

It is a good game idea but the actual game was really buggy for me. The players just stopped moving halfway and would just wait there until killed.

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Interesting concept. Is there a way to make the survivors "fight" the zombies (since they appear to have guns and all)? If so, i couldn't find a way.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice idea but a bit bugged :P funny

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

@Justin Mullin Thanks! The zombies are random, but they use the same random seed. In theory, you can predict how they behave and adjust your paths, but maybe that didn't work as expected :D

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:47pm

@Jajo haha, thanks! :) The game has several SFXs and background music, it's strange that you couldn't hear them. I've tested in on Chrome only, so maybe that's a browser issue.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:47pm

@mar3k Thank you!

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

@Aaranos Yeah, I am sorry for that. The survivors were supposed to stop when there is an obstacle (the player has to re-work the path if that happens), but it seems that is not working properly. I will have to work a bit more on that.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

@jachepe Awesome, thanks! :D

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

@phi Thanks! You have to consider the obstacles as part of the solution, but it is not working as I planned. The survivors should not continue moving in strange trajectories, for instance.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:05pm

@renegadeninjanl Thanks! At some extent, you must consider the obstacles, but they are buggy indeed. Survivors should not become that "crazy" after they hit an obstacle.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

@eerongal Thanks! Right now, the survivors cannot fight (even though they have a knife). For future versions, I am planning different types of survivors (some with real guns).

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

@Geck0 Thanks! Yeah, it has a few bugs here and there :D

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Very buggy when you hit an object but if the bugs are taken out it would make a decent cellphone game with the control scheme.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Looked great, I did have issues with the players colliding with objects then bugging out.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:49pm

The pathing is a bit buggy since once a survivor hits an obstacle they suddenly stop rather than go around it but I like the concept.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:13am

Hey i like inversion of zombie theme games. Also liked the graphics and path showing. Good one!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:25am

The idea is very cool, but the game has a lot of bugs, my soldiers simply glitch in some cars and the zombies too. I really liked the graphics and the sound effects, but the movements should be more smooth. Overall, cool entry!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

The survivors have really weird movements after hitting (or almost hitting) something, and the zombie's random movements really impair the puzzle, but I loved drawing the paths and trying to make sure they have fun before dying :P

Lythom says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

Hi !

What I liked :
- Graphics and mood
- Audio

What imo could be improved :
- Too much randomness, with the same path the level can go VERY differently
- Some bug where the wharacter would stop folowwing the path and go straight forward
- IA behaviour looks weird (maybe related to the randomness issue)

Overall the game is playable and have a great mood, good job ! Thanks for the game =)

Dovyski says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:55am

@NoGrapes, @Hot Box Games, @Xanjos Thanks! I'm sorry about the bugs, it was not supposed to be that buggy. I will work it out.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:56am

@eruiz00 Awesome, thank you! :) I was planning some cool animations for the path showing, but time is a scarce resource during LDs.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:58am

@Lukbebalduke Thank you very much! :) Yeah, I know things are buggy. I will fix the bugs in the future. Sorry for that!

Dovyski says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:00am

@akirassasin haha, awesome! The zombies should behave randomly, but following the very same movement from one session to another (I use the same seed to calculate the movements). Maybe it's too easy to disturb their movement though.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:01am

@Lythom Thank YOU for the feedback! :) I took notes of your points, I will work on them in the future.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]