Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Shifter

by Soka - Jam Entry

In this game you control a ball with the power to manipulate gravity, guiding it through some speed reaction one screen puzzles following the theme 'Two buttons controls".

Programmed solo in C++ and SDL2.

Controls: They will be explained while playing.

Source Code included in the download.

Linux version isn't tested properly since I didn't have access to a linux computer and VirtualBox is kind of poopy with some video drivers.
Since the source code is included, if it doesn't work you could try to compile it yourself, libraries needed are SDL, SDL_mixer, SDL_image and SDL_ttf.

Sorry, its my first ludum dare :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#221Innovation(Jam)3.55
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#791Graphics(Jam)2.87

Comments

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice implementation of gravity altering.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Thanks for the Linux implementation!
Nice game btw.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Very nice game, and I love the music. Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10am

Well done, that's the way.
PD: Bonita naranja :D

yumaikas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

Good soundtrack, but the level design is *very* hard to navigate, which makes it hard to get into it.

Man, that song is nice.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:13am

Woohoo, finished the game! Those last levels were very hard. ^^" Took me some time to figure out the optimal way to approach a level. Music was lovely and really set a great mood for the game!

Bug:
In certain situations the player moves into the opposite direction before going in the right direction. Looks like the speed vectors aren't reset properly when you die. Made the game waaaayyy more difficult.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19am

I think if the atmosphere weren't so immersive (love the sounds) it would be a rage quitter! Great job.

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

Thank you all guys you are all amazing ;-; I wuv you all

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

Very fun game. I finally managed to beat it after numerous attempts. The levels were especially interesting. It has a great atmosphere and story too. There is one bug that is kind of annoying: sometimes the player will go in a direction opposite to the gravity for a short time when starting a level. Not really a big deal though, this game is great.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26am

Good level design, story, idea with the theme/mechanics. The audio is good, although the "succeed" a level sound effect is too quiet compared to everything else.

My main complaint is how hard it is to actually beat this. It definitely takes some practice, which is cool. But I think if gravity would automatically shift mid-air when pressing 'Z', this game would be much more enjoyable. It would also be more like changing gravity and less like being on a ice skating ring.

Anyway, great job! :)

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Sorry for the momentum bug ;;

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Awesome game! Simple gameplay yet challenging, great soundtrack that combined with the story and graphics sets the perfect mood.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:31am

Clever level design. It was fairly challenging but just hard enough to keep you trying. I also really liked the music.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58am

Nice idea and I really wanted to play further, but I just found the gameplay way too frustrating.

The hitbox on the ball is a little larger than the model, which was a minor gripe, but overall the game made me rage because of the single direction of rotation. I know the puzzles were based around this, but they made me wanna punch a baby haha!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55am

Niice! I was drawn in by the music then the interesting story building up. Then I was hooked by the difficulty of the challenges, each nicely designed that it was satisfying when I finally solved them. Great job! Looking forward to seeing more jams from you! :D

Luissolas says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:57am

Good rhythm. good music. play with the orange and squeeze it to the maximum possible

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:08am

Levels where well thought out, music was great.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:11am

hardest controls ever - that was very hard - good use of theme - nice job

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I really liked the controls, but the high speed makes it too difficult to use properly

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]