Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dryad

by RikuKat - Jam Entry

Dryad is a puzzle platformer where you play as a dryad, a tree nymph, trying to return life to the frigid lands. Each step you take drains your energy, so you have to be careful with every move you make! Travel along the ground or use your powers to hoist yourself with vines.

Matthew Endsley - Programming
Renee Gittins - Design, Programming
Leo Langinger - Original Music, Sound Design
Brent Rawls - Art
Adam Schneider - Art, Audio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#607Graphics(Jam)3.27
#839Fun(Jam)2.73
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

I like the moment it becomes warm after it's cold!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

Nice! I like the ambiance. It's a little weird having to navigate the menu with mouse and play with keys, though.

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31am

Great music. The level selection is cool.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43am

First of all, the level select was marvellous. But on my first playthrough I got stuck on level 2 where I couldn't progress (kept getting frozen a centimeter from the glowy thing), because I didn't bother to read the how-to-play first... woops. The art style is nice, but the character was a little hard to spot at first. The ambience and music is really good, feels so cold and unwelcoming when it's winter, and so nice and cozy when it's summer. Well done!

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02am

Top notch mood/ambience. The controls were quite unintuitive and it would've been great if they were introduced as you need them instead of crammed into a menu.

RikuKat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23pm

You're totally right, YinYin! The first three levels were actually designed to introduce the controls, but I ran out of time and only could throw in that instruction sheet!

PrismaSlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:43am

Great job guys! I like the rules you came up with, lots of interesting puzzle potential here! The winter-to-spring effect was really satisfying!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:26am

I really enjoyed the art direction in this game, the level select in particular stood out to me as being really creative and clever. The mechanics of the game were also quite creative, it was a refreshing take on the platformer genre. However, it was let down a bit by the controls which seemed a bit inconsistent and sticky. I would really like to see this with more development time, cleaner controls and more levels.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:29am

nice game and good graphic! well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]