Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rage, Grow, Profit

by Catblocker - Compo Entry

You wake up confused on a strange planet nothing like yours. As you are exploring this "new" planet you realise it's crammed with stuff that irritates you (and some things that are extremely lethal).

IMPORTANT: When you open the application it will say somehting about it's a file from the internet and blablabla. Just press more information and open anyway and it will work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#107Humor3.44
#338Theme3.90
#422Innovation3.24
#461Audio2.67
#575Fun3.03
#658Overall3.03
#716Mood2.60
#719Graphics2.62

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Nice game , Very good work

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Fun take on the theme! I actually thought it's bad for you to get angry, and then realized it's the goal. :p

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Next time I totally fail to make a reasonably accurate map of the world for a game, I'll have to remember that line ;)

Well done though, this is a really nice game if a little bit frustrating that you have to go back to the beginning when you die. One thing to work on for your next game is the mechanic of moving smoothly along walls without sticking to them. The sounds were great :)

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Okay that was pretty good, but annoying that you had to restart from level 1 when you died.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Enjoyed playing this, you've made a good game.

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Nice. Tornadoes throwing sharks were very fun.

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

That was fun!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53pm

antivirus didn't let me play the game.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice game, very addicting!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Very nice, reminded me a little of katamari damacy for some reason :)

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Interesting idea

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice little idea for a game. Becomes slightly tedious by having to wander around for a long time before finding all of the objects though!

Kitfox says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Reminds me of Katamari Damacy

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very funny game :) I like the sound effect when you progress to a higher level. I also like the fact that stepping on Lego made you angry. That's so true. Game will have a more natural feel to it if the walls and the bed in the house isn't so sticky.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Fun little game. The graphics aren't the best, but they have it's own unique feel. The sound effect of THE RAGE EATER when going to the next level is great. I hoped for level 4 though. It would be nice to destroy some planets.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Haha oh man. The sound effects really made me laugh. "ouch". Great work!

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I actually chuckled to myself when I completed the first level. Well done!

astrophics says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:04am

The collision on walls could've been a bit better, but overall, good game!

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Fun idea, the growing to different sized areas, house to city to world. Good humor too, now I do "know how the dinosaurs felt." :) A good game, though as others have said, wall collision is off a bit.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Definitely appreciated the inclusion of sharknadoes!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]