Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Weight Control

by ChiPassGames - Jam Entry

A to jump left, D to jump right. Eat to gain weight, jump around to lose weight. The fatter you are, the less you can jump, but the more you can break through bricks.

Unzip the WeightControl.zip and place the folder in the same directory as the exe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#502Innovation(Jam)3.16
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#558Overall(Jam)3.28
#811Graphics(Jam)2.84
#839Mood(Jam)2.71

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Fun game~!

Transmit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

A pretty simple game, but it was fun in places. I didn't make it through to the end though.

Maybe you should sort your download files? I imagine people won't play it if they don't realise they have to download multiple things, just add the .exe to the data zip.

On some levels your spikes were facing the wrong direction! And at times I did manage to glitch into the breakable blocks.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Interesting idea and lots of levels!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The concept of eating, breaking walls, jumping and loosing weight sounds like something brilliant and promising, I expected good and interesting mechanics. But this game is too simple for my taste. It's still OK, but I expected something more complex =)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:48pm

simple yet fun, could have done with more polish.

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Unfortunate that there are no mid-air controls which result in a lot of missed jumps. However, interesting take on the platformer gameplay.
Also, really impressive level count!

OwT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Lots of levels! I'm impressed! Simple game yet quite fun. The jumping could be a little bit improved, but it's nothing you can't get used to.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

the core Idea is good ( weight / jump ). There passed maybe 15-20 then gave up on some difficutl jumps. I had problem to pass first level because I didnt understood I could push longer to jump higher, I was looking for a solution with hook and only tried harder bacause I saw comments of people who seems to play without problem.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

haha i got stuck on the corner :C
btw, i would like that in my life one jump = 20kg loss XD

funny game c:

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:55pm

fun game, the controls did confuse me alot.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Funny-scroller platformer, except that the management need to work, uncomfortable

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

I really liked your game! The jumping mechanics were pretty good and added to the complexity. Great job!

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I played well over 10 levels, didn't get to the end though. It was kind of nice game. Would have been more so if the player had better controls. I'm mostly thinking of the power in the jump. It felt much like the Time.timeDelta was too important or something like that. At times I could jump so low I didn't lift off the ground and at times roughly the same duration landed me a jump that was too high. If a jump-power meter was included it would help with that. I also didn't notice at first that the jumping could be extended by holding the button down. So the meter would kind of help the player realize that too. It also felt like the spikes had too large of a collision area (or the player). At times the spikes were facing the wrong way. And maybe most of all, if I had known how far into the game I was by some "Level 13/24" it would have been nice. Those things aside I did play it for quite a while so there's something nice about the challenge it presents. And as with all two button control games -- have you considered doing the left side of screen jump left and right jump right and port it to mobile?

purrpurr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:28am

Had some fun playing this game. The mechanics are simple and a nice use of the theme, albeit a bit unpolished. Especially liked the later stages' design, where it fully used all elements, but wasn't too cheap or difficult. Only real problem I had was with the momentum crawling to a sudden halt when eating food sometimes.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:16pm

@local - thanks for the input. We are actually thinking about doing a mobile version of this game, though we will not limit it to two button.... we are toying with a swipe control. You never know what you are going to come up with when you do these things, and the whole get fat for mass/get thin for jumping is a mechanic we are enjoying working with. I wish we had more time to do more levels that incorporated swinging through walls, but frankly we had a ton of issues getting the collisions to work right, but still have some way to go. A doughnut should not stop a swinging fat guy...

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:51am

funny game :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:54am

Interesting idea for two button controls. Grappling hook felt very out of place in the game's world. Could definitely use a restart button. I glitched into a wall and had to quit.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:12am

Pro:
+ Interesting concept and mechanics
+ Graphics are cute
Con:
- A lot of collision problems, sometimes I even fell through the breakable floor
- Difficult to control

Great work!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:52am

Great concept with good gameplay!

g12345 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:26pm

I like the idea of having weight influence the jumps.

It's a fun game for the part I've played.

I did stopped at the part when you start needing to use the grappling hook though. That part wasn't very well thought out and is probably too hard.

Also very strange is that you can swing the rope while the rope pass through wall blocks.

But as I said, the part that I did played was very fun, and I've rated the game based on that part. Which means I probably gave better scores than I would have if I have finished the game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]