Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tha Mage

by themadknights - Jam Entry

Tha Mage (Serial Number: ZXXZXZXZ)
=================================

You are having amnesia and you don't remember your spells! Use your memories to remember your spells.

Play as "Tha Mage" using combinations of Z and X keys to cast your spells!
The game has four playable levels with their own music tracks. You can use the "Mute" spell (ZZZXXX) to disable the sound/music.

Created by: "The Mad Knights": @ReikVal, @lastpotion and @beagleknight
Software: PhaserJS, PyxelEdit, LMMS, Audacity, Tiled, Gimp y SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Innovation(Jam)4.05
#98Humor(Jam)3.70
#127Overall(Jam)3.80
#134Fun(Jam)3.70
#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#300Graphics(Jam)3.82
#362Mood(Jam)3.40
#431Audio(Jam)3.17

Comments

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I LOVE this idea! You should definitely continue it after the jam and release it as a bigger game. I wish my memory didn't tell me all the spells I need, it would have been cooler to learn them myself. Also, the jump and move probably didn't need to be spells :D But please, continue this one because I've always wanted to play an old wizard with a bad memory haha :D

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I enjoyed the mechanic of this and the chatty way the spells are uncovered. Loved the art too :)

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Very nice game! But are you supposed to be able to jump more then once? I could just infinitely jump my way through all the levels. Dialog was fun. :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Awesome concept! Really like the gameplay! Keep polishing this game!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

These are trully 2 button controls haha, all the dialogue references were really fun, and the gameplay it's pretty solid, it takes time to get used to the jump/move mechanic, but once you get past that, its a matter of memorizing the level, and a lot of timing.

The all time jumping spell it's really broken too haha.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

An interesting game for sure. Maybe a little clunky, but the idea is pretty fun. An annoying thing is the fact that the spells do not act immediately, meaning that control is a little hard.

The dialog was a little cringey but still fun to read.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

Great work, loved the 4th wall breaking...
No cooldown and no mana let me double jump, making a lot of the levels easy to bypass...

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

The idea is great as the use of the theme. Great graphics also. Great job, congratulatios!!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Wow, maybe the very best idea for all the games I saw so far!
It is a really hard game and too fast paced.

Keep improving the game and you'll get an innovative masterpiece.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23am

Very cool idea, realy awesome. This combo system pretty awesome too!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Cool idea.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

The theme is very nicely executed. I really liked the combo idea (actually finished the game with a score of 200, thanks to the portal...loved it!).

The fact that you made a list of spells with some "?" add to the fun, and I really wanted to discover them all!

Thanks for your game ;)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Really enjoyed this game, great idea and has some great humor in there too

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:39am

I really enjoyed this. I'm not one for reading a lot of prompts though (and I think you relied on them a bit too much considering people are going to be flying through games on LD), but I really enjoyed it overall. I really liked the spell casting system. I just wish I could've gotten into the action a bit quicker.

elizeu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Very nice gameplay... cool use of the theme. Great work.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Very interesting concept! Solid work guys!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Neat idea, definitely makes the game more challenging by restricting your moves to spells. Loved the dialogue as well, funny stuff!

Ulydev says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:21am

Very nice concept, keep up the good work!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:24am

Brilliant, such a simple concept that works so fantastic with the setting, it did get pretty tricky having to learn to time it all properly, like stopping and moving onto moving platforms, but it was executed so well, great job!

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:31am

Cool idea, but the controls are quite annoying.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Really interesting game. I've been wanting to do something similar to this for a while.

One problem I found was you could pretty much just recast jump to fly wherever you want. Other than that, really clever game.

xaedes says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Brilliant use of the theme. Reminds me of Magicka. Figured the protal spell out quit fast, spent the next few minutes learning to type it correctly fast enough and then skipped each level XP
Nice that that was possible =)
The storytelling was very nice, but a little bit behind my own discoveries mostly.
Music and graphics fit very well and look/sound good.

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Great job with this, I like the concept a lot and it certainly fits the theme. The coordination it requires just to time and execute jumps/moves adds an interesting difficulty to it. I enjoyed the sprites and audio as well, it felt like a reasonably "complete" experience even within the limited amount of time available. Congrats!

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Awesome game, I like how you managed to make the controls limited but not making it frustrating. I enjoyed playing it.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:31pm

really cool idea! very well done!

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Awesome little game! I love using the buttons to perform standard functions of a game.

My only quibble with it is the slight delay between performing the command and it happening which meant I had to change how to judge to perform moves based off the delays.

Otherwise it's a really clever idea and has really funny writing too!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Once upon a time I played a game by Stabyourself.net named Order of Twilight. It was the most fun I ever had with a game that featured ponies.
This game brings up those memories. I love this game. xD

Totally the most fun I had so far from Ludum Dare entries this year.

Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Very good game i like this platformer. Graphism are great ! really good work guys ;)

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Was pretty difficult until I learned that I could infi-jump.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:40am

+ nice colours
+ good pixel art
+ interesting game

themadknights says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 9:44am

Thank you for all your votes and all the feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]