Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swarms in Space

by HongerTrollie - Jam Entry

In your possession is two spaceships and quite a few laser Towers. The laser Towers and fighter ship (Green space ship) can only fire on the swarmlings if they are in the green area (which is constantly shrinking)

Expand the green area by collecting crystals with the miner (blue space ship) and bringing it back to the blue area at your Space warp gate (the miner mines the asteroids and hives for crystals).

Swarmlings will kill your miner on touch so try to protect him with your fighter.

To attack hives, just move your miner close to it.

WASD to move camera MouseScroll to Zoom in and out

Left click to select
Right Click to give orders

*If you play the Web version use both full-screen buttons for the optimal experience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#663Innovation(Jam)2.93
#975Mood(Jam)2.25
#1005Theme(Jam)2.73
#1033Fun(Jam)2.31
#1083Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Nice entry, but i feel the difficulty ramps up waaay too quickly. i was swarmed like 30 seconds in.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Great idea. Web version has to be full screen or a contextual menu pops up. Difficulty ramps up really quick. Has great potential.

Finestep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Fun, but the unresponsiveness of the miner and the tendency of the fighter to foray off the green zone makes gameplay more frustrating than it need to be. The fighter should prioritize bugs near the miner, and hiding the laser charge from the player is bad.
The swarm also encountered some logistics issues and got bottlenecked into a one-at-a-time intersection by an unfortunate arrangement of asteroids.
Still, a nice game and impressive enemy counts.

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59pm

The concept is nice but the controls are pretty hard to handle and the game seems repetitive at some point because you don't feel the pressure of the green aera shrinking.
Anyway, nice job.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57am

Hey awesome entry, it would've been nice if you had had more time to design the difficulty ramp, but overall this is a nice piece!!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12am

As I started playing and becoming overtaken by the ennemies I just loved the mood a la FTL. It becomes super hard quite quickly but I actually thought it played a good part in feeling invaded by the ennemy :) What I thought was lacking was some particle effects and music... Great job!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48am

The Web version does not displayed properly.

It's fun idea, but I feel the control scheme is weird and not so intuitive.
Also, the sound effects when hit is a bit strange.
Anyway, nice job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:56am

Controls need revision. It's hard because you are overtaken too early.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02am

Nice idea, but I ran into trouble with the game becoming completely unresponsive to commands quite quickly :(

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Idea is good! Feels a bit like a Starcraft tower defense. Would have been nice if you were able to build more units and if your progress/results were displayed. Overall pretty good :)

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:10am

I love how all of your weaponry shoots fast but at a low range, so that it looks like you are fighting against overwhelming odds, but as long as you pick up a few crystals you are never in any real danger.

Raphi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:33am

Nice and fun concept, sadly sometimes the ships don't move when you want it, but it's a good game :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nice idea but the game felt very repetitive

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Nice idea, but the controls can seem unresponsive.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:40am

nice game

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:23am

Playing on the web version on an older laptop, but within seconds there were so many little swarm-y things that my game was unresponsive and laggy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]