Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rescue Longboat

by Astusvis - Compo Entry

Steer a longboat around a chain of islands to pick up people stranded on driftwood.
(A/Left Arrow) and (D/Right Arrow) to paddle left/right respectively.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Theme4.00
#441Innovation3.21
#454Humor2.42
#586Fun3.00
#665Mood2.71
#716Overall2.96
#815Graphics2.39
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

Nice use of the two button theme

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

It's fun how the ship is paddling, I like the idea :)

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

This is a good idea and I think you implemented the boat mechanics really well. If you were to take it further I'd like to see some mechanism for making you feel like you were fighting against the clock.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Fun mechanic, but controls get really wonky in small places.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

Pretty simple concept, but nicely executed, good job.

I liked the hit-boxes on the people, by the way. Due to how the boat controls, it's sort of hard to make sharp turns, so allowing for a bit of leeway by having the peoples hit-box be big enough, was a good implementation.

The random generation (or at least, I assume it's random generation) could use some work, as I once spawned in a tiny puddle of water surround by land, with no where to go. But, this is to be expected for a 48 hour game.

Although simple, I found myself playing this for longer than expected, there's something very relaxing about just rowing around in this game, nice work overall! :)

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

I didn't think of apex turning to leverage the theme. I think you did a good job, but I didn't see many hazards that could end the game.

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33am

The longest one I've played so far! Sadly, one of the survivors was somehow stranded on an inaccessible lake. ^_^

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Good first step the controls don't seem to be stable not sure if it's me or something in the game

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Good use of theme, controls well!

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Fun to play while waiting something. I liked the mechanics.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

The game doesn't look great, but it's a lot of fun seeing all the people you rescued walking around the island and seeing them build houses!

felilix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:40am

Nice concept!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Good movement, makes for an enjoyable little game

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22pm

The best part of this game was the mechanic and the large map to me. I think the graphics could be upgraded. And some audio would contribute to a better mood. But thanks for making this

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Love the concept of rowing the boat with the two buttons. You should make the boat crash to end the game. Also like how the people you rescue start building houses. Great game!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really enjoy a couple things about this game - exploring the sea map is fun, and even more fun is watching survivors travel, settle and explore the land after you rescue them, and as your rescue others. The game also uses the two button theme nicely, though the core mechanic is a bit rough. This type of control scheme is definitely hard to implement well; perhaps the rotation rate could increase over time as the player holds a button down, so it's simple to both rapidly paddle left and right for forward movement, or turn sharply when needed? My other point of critique is simply that it gets a bit dull after awhile. I only played up until I had rescued 34 out of 100 survivors. Perhaps there could be shorter level segments, and as levels progress, you could encounter different sorts of places and people? Great work so far, looking forward to what comes next.

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Loved the concept and great use of the theme. Relaxing and fun to play, I would love to see a bigger version of this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]