Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Udder Failure

by MaulUdder - Compo Entry

Fr1st LD compo entry <3 .
Online (HTML5) version available only. No need for plug-ins (all cheer!?).

Guide your cow's head to her udder while collecting all the food on the way. Control with cursor left and right. Or touching left and right part of display, if your device is into that sort of thing. Game uses Two Button Controls theme as well as Growing but of the latter little is left from the original intentions (only that the level grows while player stays the same size).

Play through 11 levels of frantic mayhem, or rather badly designed developer levels with semi-random variations in the learning curve.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#71Humor3.63
#124Fun3.69
#227Overall3.58
#233Theme4.00
#320Mood3.21
#433Innovation3.22

Comments

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49am

Nice! Reminds me of the special stages from Sonic.

BCasaleiro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

I really liked this game. It is simple but fun

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Nice use of both themes. The level growing is pretty cool, makes it a bit more difficult as it goes on.

The little gravity-changer-button-arrow and bouncy ball things add quite a bit! Cool stuff.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

the game simple and fun
the animation when winning a level remind me of tempest lol
but still...why cow? :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

awesome, reminds me of the first sonic bonus level

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32pm

A great puzzler, spent some time wrapping my brain around some of the trickier levels :) Simple mechanic executed well.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40am

I really liked this, especially how the movement mechanics are very simple, but the levels make it more complex. I did have a bit of trouble trying to figure out which direction gravity was pulling me most of the time, even with the arrow in the background. Maybe an indicator off the the side of the screen that you're being pulled towards would help that?

Really nice job :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18am

It's a fun game, but that haven't got 2 buttons of controls, just got 2 controls in 1 button

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

Inspiration (ahum) comes from 1993's "Bob's Bad Day" (Amiga(-only?) game by Psygnosis) which came on a coverdisk of the Amiga Action magazine. That game itself might have been inspired by the bonus levels of Sonic the Hedgehog 1 (1991).

"Why cow". I don't know what the original idea was any longer. But I wanted to do something with my username (an anagram for Ludum Dare) but the whole (Darth) Maul part was left out. The udder was left and a cow seemed fitting... somehow. And somewhat easier to draw (unlike my attempt at an udder).

Rys0n: Thanks, also for the suggestion. I have trouble too with the direction of gravity (maybe I shouldn't overuse it in a level) and that's also why the background arrow was added. I like your visual cue at the side better and will try it out (it shouldn't become too flashy I think).

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33am

CristianBatista: I'm not sure I follow. If you have one key for moving/rotating left, and another key for moving/rotating right how is that 2 controls/movements in 1 button/key?
(Besides that there's the Growing theme, somewhat :) )

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Simple and fun, well made. Probably adding some background music would make it even better.

grifdail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44am

Awesome Game ! I really liked it. Cool twist on the "ball rolling mechanique". Well executed ! Congrat.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Very nice entry. simple mechanics with good execution. Some of the levels are a bit frustrating though :)

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30am

Reminds me a lot of Super Monkey Ball!

Very fun, no idea why you aren't proud of this. The art could use some work but the gameplay makes up for it.

nopogo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Simple concept, but the simplest concept often make the best puzzles. the skill needed ramps up quite well which keeps each next lvl interesting. what a frustrating game (in a good way) also, Love the udder puns! :D

Tijn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24pm

This little game is surprisingly fun to play. Well done, I had tons of fun :)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56am

Saw something like that! Good logic and fun main character! Good work!

g12345 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Nice idea, cool physics, nice graphics too. I did gave up halfway though, but that doesn't matter.

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56pm

A simple idea done well. Fun graphics too. Nice work.:-)

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Fun, I liked this game. Interesting concept and fun puzzels. God job!

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Wow, great mechanic, love it! Good use of both themes :)

esayitch says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Very cool physics puzzler. The first level with spikes seemed like a sudden spike of difficulty at first, since there were many spikes, but it proved to be relatively simple. Could use a nice soundtrack :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]