Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Conservation of Ninjutsu

by kuhnerdm - Compo Entry

Endless-enemy, two-button game created in Unity engine

NOTE: You need to HOLD DOWN the buttons to kill the enemies. I'd put this in the instruction screen, but I can't edit it now.

"Conservation of Ninjutsu" an endless-enemy, two-button game created in Unity. The main game mechanic is defeating enemies by pressing either the vertical arrow keys, the horizontal arrow keys, or no arrow keys.

Gameplay

The gameplay for this game is very simple. As an endless wave of enemies runs towards you, you must counter their attacks with attacks of your own. As the game progresses, you have less time to react, and you must complete more consecutive attacks to score points.

Control Scheme

The goal of using two sets of two buttons to choose your attack was to keep in line with the Ludum Dare 34 theme "Two-Button Controls" while removing the issue of players quickly developing muscle memory. Having to reposition the entire hand over the arrow keys makes it harder to subconsciously decide what to do as soon as you see the color of the next indicator.

Note: First LD; bring on the hate ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Audio3.69
#267Fun3.45
#369Innovation3.34
#433Humor2.46
#559Overall3.14
#665Mood2.71
#725Theme3.38
#841Graphics2.24
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:19am

Great game sir! Really enjoyed both the music AND game play. When the enemies transitioned to have more than one instruction I was confused initially but thought it got much more fun. Hats off to you!

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:23am

The game was great :D Really fun to play. Music is catchy too, so great job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

Pretty good game! Took me a few tries to figure out that you had to HOLD DOWN the buttons instead of tap them. Once I understood that, it was pretty enjoyable.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Good game

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Really nice job on the music.

The gameplay is an interesting take on a classic. I enjoyed it.

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Thank you all very much for the compliments, ESPECIALLY for the music. If you guys don't know (which you probably don't), I make a lot of music in my free time, and you can check it out here :) https://soundcloud.com/derekmk

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Very nice and simple (yet hard) game!
Also good balance on the speed increase, didnt get bored at any point :)

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Well done, the controls felt strange at first but you get used to holding down. All in all great game :)

knason says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Great game! I didn't understand at first but when I realized that I had to hold down the controls it was really fun. Well done!

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

cool game but i had to read comments to understand that i had to hold down the buttons ^^ you should write it in your description ;)

Gins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:51am

Simple but cool game. It was a bit boring at first, but when the dudes with multiple commands came in and the speed increased, it got really intense! The music is really catchy too. It's also quite an exercise for the fingers to have to alternate between up/down and left/right, so it's definitely a different experience to just pressing a single button. Well done!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:02am

Loved the mood and the music. Perfect usage of the theme, very cool game!!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Ha-haah! Genius with the music and everything. Of course the ninja look simplistic but that's a worry for another day. Great theme usage.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:41pm

A great reflex game altogether, however, I can't quite agree entirely with how it works here and there. Yes, having to reposition my entire hand was de-focusing from muscle memory but I do believe that in a fast-paced and ever-accelerating game like this muscle memory is actually crucial. Also, controls would be much smoother without the need to hold the button.
Or maybe I'm just too used to the average system of a reaction game. Who knows the reason, still, I like them better that way.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Interesting game, I liked the audio and the concept. Good job.

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Simple game concept that gets challenging very fast. I especially like the audio, but the graphics could use some work.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Frenetic & addictive. Well done ++

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Neat game. Soundtrack was good! Feel like the controls could have been explained better.

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:44pm

It took a little while to get started, but once the pace picked up I had a ton of fun! The graphics were a little simple, but they worked for the purpose and I felt the music was great. Good work! :)

kuhnerdm says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Thank you very much for the kind comments, everyone! I'll take to mind the notes about how the controls are explained.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]