Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Growth

by emanvidmaker - Jam Entry

This a game about growing "plants" deep with in the earth core
you are a blob probably named with a cliche name to grow "Plant" collecting "growth" powers ups to go to the surface and fix earth

---------------------------------------VIDEOS-------------------------------
1. slide show: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvSqaoDXBYc
2. game play: https://youtu.be/8jAaylZLIJI
------------------------------------HOW TO PLAY-----------------------------
_1.Be a human (we also accept aliens)
_2.download game
_3a.Learn controls (W A S D or Arrows keys and R to reset the player)
_3b. or Rage Quit!!!!!!!!!!! (spaming R until your ears bleed)
_4.poke keyboard several times until you beat the game (aka play the game)
_5.Enjoy(mandatory)
--------------------------------------bugs------------------------------
(P = patched,R = resetting will fix it)
plant skips movement and the screen jumps up (P v1.2)
possible to skip growth power up and soft lock the game (p 1.2)
the plant's color at the ending was off(p 1.2)
possible to get stuck on the plant (p 1.2)(R)
getting stuck on a solid block (R)
R did not reset the player's x and y to plant's (p 1.2)(R)
can not reset the game at the end :-(
lost your dinner because you ate it
(if this happens contact your local time lord he might help)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#667Audio(Jam)2.45
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81
#849Mood(Jam)2.69
#870Overall(Jam)2.90
#872Theme(Jam)3.15
#970Graphics(Jam)2.25
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08am

nice game :) there was a point i couldn't get past but was fun to play !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49pm

The description made me play it. Twice.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Liked the design a lot, but the camera movement is very annoying. Music is pretty good and I liked the platform/puzzle mix. I would've loved some extra mechanics though. I did play the entire game, so good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice start. Start menu audio is a bit obnoxious, but the rest of the music is cool. Nifty graphics and a fun "dancing" mechanic - good start!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Bah my other comment was for a different game, sorry. DX

I really like the wall-climb mechanic and the dual play of raising the platform/climbing. The music is a bit short and obnoxious but the sounds are pretty decent. Overall, fun stuff.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I liked the ending! Overall I think it's a nice little game to play. It wasn't too hard though there were some parts that threw me off but I managed to finish it.

The music gets a bit tiresome after a while and the growth power up sounds were starting to get to me. It might be that my volume is a bit high, though.

Good game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Cute game. Relaxing. I wish my choices had a little more impact.

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Nice game, cool ending and nice climbing mechanic.

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Nice game, cool ending and nice climbing mechanic.
Revieved on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I kinda liked the mechanic but at one place it failed, I respawned on the flower thing. I don't know if that was intentional or not. Sound and graphics should be reworked for sure. I think you can do better. Also about writing, it wasn't really funny for me, you may try to work on that. Good luck!

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The game idea is nice and it works well. If there were some type of hazards or things to avoid it would be even cooler.


Good work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:20am

Fun game for the vertical climbing. I felt like it was always pushing the game forward with the plant growing in the center the whole way through. Wish the music loops were a little longer but considering one person made everything, it is quite impressive.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:02am

Interesting game, but really could've used more elements to it, as it was very very easy to figure out and finish.

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Really nice platformer! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]