Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fast West

by Emkiusz - Jam Entry

- Be fast or be dead! Cock the hammer and kill your opponent before he does. And remember about the correct order! -

+ 1 - 2 Players
+ Can be played using only keyboard

Controls:
A, D for Player 1.
Left, Right for Player 2.
One button cocks the hammer and another fires from the weapon, but their roles are random, so be careful.
A, D, S, F for menu, as prompted on screen.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello World! That's my first Ludum Dare and for it I just made a mini-game about Wild West duels. I made two button controlled gameplay for the Ludum Dare theme. Also my friend (listed in credits) made a music for the game (that's why I'm starting in the Jam, not the Compo :P).
I was making it for about 12 hours. It's not a piece of art, but I hope you enjoy it!

Tools used:
+ GameMaker Studio
+ ChipTone

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#773Fun(Jam)2.84
#829Overall(Jam)2.97

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Cool cinematic effect before it begins!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really good entry! Little cutscenes and musics are pretty rare in LD entries. And a very fun gameplay, I can totally see me playing it with friends! Good job!

Lizandros says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Good idea, but to low amount of game in a game :) Cutscene is nice... for the first time.

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Played this in coop and it was a blast!
Awesome concept!
5 stars for me

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Cool. I really liked this. Takes good concentration and fast skill though. Excellent entry. Well done.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Love the tone and atmosphere. Great work with the audio too. Superb for a first entry!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I played this with a friend and got murdered brutally. Even so, I had a tremendous time with this game. The tension of a wild west shootout has been used plenty of times before, but randomizing the players controls when the time to shoot arrives creates a beautiful second layer of panic and replicates the feeling of fumbling with a weapon. The overall style and presentation surrounding the mechanics was also excellent, and was the cherry on top of a beautifully done package.

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

When the voting will be finished, I'll add few little features, "Skip" button (it's already done), for example.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57am

Cool western mood! As some people said, it would be great if you could skip the cutscene. This game could turn in something pretty good if you keep on working on it.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Howdy boyz! Goog game

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47am

This is an intense game. I got shot so many times before I put my head in the game and payed attention. Good job!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55am

Game with duels always looks like good!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:49am

Why did you untick audio and graphics? They were both pretty good!

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Great job on the atmosphere

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Nice lil' quick-draw game.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Best game about the Wild West, playing with a friend the evening

dx0ne says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Great buildup with audio. So simple yet so tense.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:51pm

This is a perfect example of how to use a few simple assets and color right to make an incredible look and feel.

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Awesome mood! the concept's pretty simple but is good enough for a LD!
Really cool, especially for a first entry!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Wow this was really fun! loved it! the cinematic was top quality

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:38am

Very nice concept. Should've put it up for audio rating as that's not bad either.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Can b nice but their still are a fw bugs (Player2 win a lot more often than the 1 ;) )
And the intro is to long!
Need a bit more balance effort but could be a nice reflex game. ;)

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Windows says it is malware... I hope that's not the case, but I can't risk it, sorry :(

Emkiusz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:00pm

@randomhuman Sorry to hear that. It's just .exe made in GameMaker Studio. I know that few Windows versions consider it as a virus (even my antivirus software is not letting me play my own game :P), but I think I can't do anything with that. :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]