Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Judge or jump !

by Iman_axe - Jam Entry

this is a two button score based arcade game where you must act quickly and accurately. with over thousands of unique characters!
How about a little "Judging" thing?

add your scores to the leaderboard! let us see who is the ultimate judger! :D

controls : left and right clicks of mouse.(also arrow keys on keyboard)

(Made by "us" at ludumdare34)
#ldjam #ld34

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#154Humor(Jam)3.48
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#265Innovation(Jam)3.48
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#378Mood(Jam)3.38
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#500Overall(Jam)3.34
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17

Comments

Namek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

It's too often hard to see whether some "detail" belongs to the person on the front or in the background. But overall, nice idea for randomization. Music - simple but cool!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It's actually pretty cool and runs great. I had to download the windows version however since the web version took a really long time to load.

Only thing I'm missing from this is more sounds.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Funny idea!
Problem is that the player can't learn. There is no real feedback what you did wrong, so it gets frustrating very fast. Bummer!

WASDMagician says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

From what I can see most of these characters have nothing unique about them that gives you any idea as to if they are good or bad, so judging is just luck.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I found it a bit difficult to understant, but it's a fun game. The use of the Theme, the tense mood and the sense of humor are the best of the game, but I don't really understanded the criteria used to calificate someone as 'good' or 'bad'.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

lol
Funny game, I love it!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Tense being the guy who sends a person to heaven or hell! Same with Namek though, I had trouble discerning whether or not the details the character was holding behind their backs belonged to that person, or someone behind them.

Overall though, great use of the theme, and awesome theming in the game itself. That music! =)

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Definitively a very innovative game that is also well-implemented!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Original concept. It's funny judging people. Sometimes it's difficult see the details. Nice job!

smoreley says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice idea, would of liked to know why judging a person one way, was incorrect (some times it obvious others its not so clear why).

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Game is way too hard and I just can't get a hang of it. Needs a guide on what is good and what is bad. Good idea though!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cute idea! As others mentioned, the player needs feedback to know what they did wrong, and sometimes the hell-indicator is obscured by the angel. I liked musical tension.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I sometimes couldn't spot some details.

mehrbod.d says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12am

So creative, unique character designs and atmosphere.

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:26am

Thank you guys for your kind comments, i just fixed a bug where a "must go to hell" element wasn't obvious so no more losing without knowing why! and about knowing which element is good or bad, you must try! i think it would be too easy if i put a guide on em. also added leaderboard , cant wait to see your high scores ,and also more feedbacks!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:45am

Very good idea, the setting and interactions (making fly people to the left or right) work really well.

The downside is, like others said you should have made it more obvious whether a person is good or bad, or at least shown us the incorrect choice so that we learn from our mistakes. Here the learning curve is quite low because of those things.

It's already quite fun but with some more polish this could make an excellent little game! All in all nice job :)

King Erfan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Cool idea, great music,good atmosphere, but a little confusing, it's Ok generally, try more king iman

amin_ad says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:56pm

i think it is wonderful , its hard to say three days was enough. you did magic..

Anachron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:18am

Great entry! Took a few tries to learn the visual cues, then it became a race against the clock. Some audio cues would be nice, as well as some animations on the characters. The dolls were tricky to figure out, which is good!

Rialgar says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:03am

Brilliant!

Minor annoyance: some of the details (especially the guns and the belt) where hard to see, because they where partly covered by the player.

OwT says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:18am

Great idea!! I've played it with my friends and we've made a drinking game out of it xD
After a while it was soooooo hard. I mean the details were already hard to see, but after a few shots... pure hell.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]