Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

..and the mooncats

by aarkipel - Compo Entry

A simple sidescroller, controlled with two buttons only.

S + K (windows keyboard)

DOWN + A (xbox360 controller)


Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#8Overall4.31
#10Mood4.34
#10Graphics4.53
#18Theme4.44
#22Fun4.05
#36Innovation4.08
#51Audio3.87
#287Humor2.79

Comments

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Excellent work! Best game so far! I enjoy very much!

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Nice, i like the use of the two buttons

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Oh, I love this retro-graphics!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Yooo, this game is sweet af, the controls are so clever! Some sick level design with really cool jumps. It's basically a hard platformer, but really slow-paced, so you don't have to react as fast, which is nice. The only thing I really struggled with was figuring out the spider jumps. Audio was really suiting too, though the death sound is kinda cringing :p Should probably mention the boss fight too, since it suddendly made the controls a lot more interesting (more left/right)
cool game

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Nice! One of my favourite entries so far! Really clever use of the 2 button controls! The art and music was also fantastic. overall very polished game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Favorite game I have plaed yet! Awesome!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Amazing. So much control with so few buttons...

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Loved the mechanic, it plays like a regular platformer with only two buttons. Great work! The mood and level design is a lovely bonus. Would play more!

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Wow! Best game so far

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Great!

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Wow, one of the fav games on this LD!

Really great work, 10/10 overall!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Brilliant take on the theme. The control scheme is unusual but it works beautifully. You nailed the game mechanics, it totally feels like an old school game. Graphics and sound also contribute a lot and they shape an eerie mood.

Congratulations!

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

You're asking for money for the privilege of rating your LD entry which, although you can bypass it, I don't want to encourage. But, this is a fantastic entry which really deserves to be seen so I don't want to give you a bad rating either.

The mechanics are really well implemented, just totally solid. Love the Castlevania feel to the jumps, works better than standard abuse-a-physics-engine fare.

Audio & art are simple but super effective. Can't fault it. Great entry.

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

That mooncat looks like the most fabulous thing in existance

peyj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

great game. very good execution of the theme. I think there is actually a lot to learn from a game design perspective, for example, how having a button mean very different things depending on context can frustrate the player :D

Ditto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Huh, that was cool, surprised at how well it controls! Well done! :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Great look and feel. It's a little shameful how long it took me to get past the menu. Cleaver control scheme though. Another ingenious way to use the two-button rule for a platformer. I keep watching your animated GIF above and wonder why I too couldn't "ground pound" with that kind of skill. I couldn't get past the long pit with the two spiders, but loved every minute of trying.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Really solid game. The graphics have a simple, polished look and the music has an almost menacing feeling.

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

i really like this. Clever controls + good colour palette + nice audio. Funny dancing skeleton enemies!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:49am

Yooo. This was mesmerizing. Unique. One of my favorite things in old videogames is the prevalence of black -- like the game takes place in a void. This unsettled me as a kid, but love it now and your game really revels in it. I love it. Great ambient squelchy synth music and stark graphics make a great pair. Even a boss battle at the end -- so complete.

Ground pound mechanic was fun as hell. A big grin crawled across my face after jumping on top of spiders across a large gap. Great job on this. One of my favorites this LD.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Cool controls and nice mood. I couldn't fidure out what to do with the spiders

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Wow! The best LD32 game for me so far =)
Really love the game mechanics! It's challanging. Level design is well-made to explore your abilities. Boss is good. Only one worst thing in this game that this too short XD
Excellent work, dude!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:03am

Amazing. The controls feel right at home even when limited to two buttons. The graphics were awesome and were supported by the great ambiance. The only thing I felt like it was missing was boss music...

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Enjoyed the game, but got frustrated by the 3rd level (on the gif). What is the main hero? :-)

rogual says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Just realized what the main character reminds me of: these things from Codex Seraphinianus

http://grapefruitopia.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/leopards.jpg?4971bf

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Neat graphics, love the way you used two buttons. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]