Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed your demon

by MrYoglu - Jam Entry

In this game you can try yourself as a cultist, who summons the Demon. But he is so weak you have to feed him souls. As a regard the Demon gives you dark magic abilities. Help the Demon to reach maximum power, and he will let you rule the world.
Game's features:
Random waves of enemies
You always have random set of powers which makes the game exciting
Amazing music and graphics
Contacts:
- programmer xdgonx@yandex.ru
- artist dimaasoon@yandex.ru

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#168Overall(Jam)3.73
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#835Theme(Jam)3.24

Comments

xdgonx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I like it)

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Interesting game, the controls were a bit odd, but it was enjoyable. It's also pretty challenging. Even if it would have clashed a lot with the graphical style (which is awesome by the way) I'd have probably had a better time remembering the different symbols from the tutorial if they had different colors.
Music is also p. cool

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

This one was great! I can finally put words: beatiful and slaughter in the same sentence.
Found difficulty a little high (partly from not remembering all the powers) Would be nice to have a list while playing.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Controls could be better but love the game

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Pretty good game. I liked the mood the most, and graphics/audio worked out well too.. I did struggle with the controls a bit.. e.g. player should be able to hit faster at least.? :d

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Really nice graphics and audio. If you could make the hitbox for the swing a little bit better would be nice thougt. Because sometimes it feels like you should hit but you miss.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Wow! I love it. Random generation is a good feature. Nice job!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

My respect for pixel art! The mood and game overall is very solid. I had some vibes of the Crawl, this is a good thing by the way)

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Love the art and the mood! There were a lot of cheap deaths though, I couln't figure out how the hitboxes worked and whether I hit the enemies not.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

A touch violent. A bloody mess in fact.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

Cool take on the theme I really like the game mechanic, the idea and aesthetics, especially the music. Mechanics are also very cool, but collisions were a bit clunky when I tried to attack.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Отличная игра, залип. Привет из холодного СССР)

MrYoglu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

tantumgames, ;)

doos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11am

I thought it was pretty cool, I just kept dying all the time.. Nice touch to add my soul to the pile.. :)

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Great art and atmosphere. Controls are a bit hard (long swinging cooldown and short range make it hard to dispose of enemies). Good call on adding some randomization for replayability.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Шикарное мессиво! Привет из Минска!

tribrain says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Cool game! Nice concept, din't like the controls that much, i think it could be easier to play if you use the directionals (arrows) instead of a,w,d. It makes it less frustrating. Good music!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Bit too hard for me :P

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I didn't find the game extremely fun but mostly frustrating because of the controls and the difficulty that i think is pretty high. But the graphics and music are pretty cool!

Chewie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Player attack has too small hit are for me.
Otherwise great game with good pixel art graphics.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Fantastic work on the sounds, visual and overall feel. Attacking felt really awkward though, I could never tell if an attack would hit or not, especially if I was moving. Enemies tended to blob together as well, which made it difficult to collect the souls afterwards. Got as far as wave 5 after 20+ attempts, and only saw a couple of the powers.

I would love a full game with this mood and aesthetic if the mechanics were more polished.

MrYoglu says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Only I can easily get to a 30 waves?

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:26am

Great visuals, music, and mood! As others have said, the slow attack feels needlessly punitive, and on top of that the hitbox seems a bit small (or lower on the screen than expected?). Once I got used to it, it wasn't so bad (I had to sort of "joust" enemies), but I still think it warrants changing.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:47pm

мясцо) править миром - глобальная затея! )

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Really nice game, had a lot of fun. The idea is really cool and well executed. The hitboxes could use a little work but apart from that, great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]