Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crashteroids

by Rogod - Compo Entry

Crashteroids is a 2 button-control space growing game with the objective to collect all the aliens from the planets and get to safety.

Made with Java - find the executable Crashteroids.jar inside /dist

All artwork made in Gimp.
All sound effects made in SFXR.
All music made with http://tonematrix.audiotool.com/
Coded in Netbeans IDE.
Less than 24hrs work in total.
Listened to F-777's chipstep the whole time: dude it suits the mood better than my attempt at making music.

Have fun :D

P.S. This was only made by me, no external media or assistance was provided.

Update!
Ported the whole game to DarkBASIC Pro (Windows & DirectX9.0c). Source is available for reference too.
(This port was made in 24 hours after a day of testing other people's games - try porting Java OOP OpenGL to BASIC DirectX any faster :P )

Update2!
Ported the whole game to Android GLES! Incase anyone wants to play it "that" way xD
Crashteroids is on the Google Playstore here:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.crashteroids

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#78Innovation3.92
#80Theme4.23
#183Overall3.65
#225Graphics3.62
#234Fun3.50
#235Mood3.35
#261Humor2.86
#468Audio2.65

Comments

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

Cool game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

An excellent showing! The idea was really creative, and the the excecution pulled through! Building a tower is really satisfying, and it remains fun for a surprisingly long time, considering how simple it is.

As a possibility for a post compo version, you could take this idea and run with it, adding in all sorts of upgrades and bonuses for the little cities you build, possibly adding a bunch more strategy to it!

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Thanks man, that's actually what I had in mind.
Thinking of porting it to Android because of it's simple controls.
And I felt only 4 upgrades wasn't enough, so I'm gonna dream up some more and maybe play with planet sizes & different buildings/structures on the planets. :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Cant run this (naked java) so not rating.

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

What does Naked Java mean?
(You could have probably downloaded Java in the time it took to say that you're not rating it - lots of games here are made with Java & most computers come with it pre-installed to some degree.)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:00am

Wow this game is incredible. It feels so polished too! I had a lot of fun playing it. The only thing is that the music loop is maybe a bit too short and becomes annoying quickly but it's not a bad sound, just not enough of it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42am

Awesome! I'll definitely give a the post compo version of this a play! There's so much interesting stuff you could do with the idea... Missions where your aim is to cover the entire planet, building missile silos to take out asteroids (or just giant swinging arms)... This could be really great!

Rogod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Heh, Allthebees I completely understand where you're coming from - I am no musician; it's why I deliberately included the sound-off option. :P

RockHopperGames & Jonathan Whiting stay tuned here and on rogodigital.com, work has already begun on Crashteroids2 - I'm completely revamping the code, expanding and porting to Android and DarkBASICPro so everyone can enjoy it with a Windows machine or an Android phone. :)

Rogod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21pm

So I've just spent the last 24 hours converting Crashteroids into DarkBASICProfessional from Java.
Here's the whole game, completely ported:
http://updates.rogodigital.com/crashteroids/CrashteroidsDBP.zip
And the source for reference if people want to compare the languages:
http://updates.rogodigital.com/crashteroids/CrashteroidsDBPSRC.zip

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34am

Guys, since you used free software, like Gimp and Java to create this, maybe you could package it for Linux, probably all you need is to put required .so files instead of .dll :)

[etsvigun@Jotunheim ludumdare34]$ java -jar Crashteroids.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

Rogod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:50am

I have no Linux distro to test on, but I'll package the Mac&Linux runnables if you wish.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:48pm

This the third game that captivated me all the way to the end. The first game I spent more than 10 minutes in. Good job! Though for love of god some less repetitive music would be nice.

Rogod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Hah I'm GLaD to hear it, and I make no apologies for the music, I am a programmer and visual artist at heart - I normally get my team to provide music for our projects - as this had to be a solo work I had to do the music as best I could. :P

lastnerd says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

Fantastic, easy and very fun game.

Rogod says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:18am

Thanks, not everyone finds it easy, you must be one of the chosen ones. :D

Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:00am

Wow! This is one of my favorite entries. Cute graphics, excellent implementation, and just enough gameplay to make the tower building mechanic fun without overstaying its welcome.

Great job. I feel like this is everything a ludum dare should be. :)

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Overall awesome work! Only complaints is that it takes so long to complete a level (if there is an ending), played to first boss and then lost patience. And music needs improvement (but I know how hard it is, I'm very bad on the music part too).

Rogod says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Thanks guys :D

ZpeedTube, it's not level based, that was the last boss. :P
You get a score when you escape him.
And yeah, the music still beats some of my other solo-attempts. :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:40pm

I really liked it. Well-polished, looked great, played great. No real issues here other than the game maybe being a bit slow.

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:29am

This is a cool game! Graphics are okay

mf1214 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:51am

Great game! Nice concept and good effort.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]