Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Evolooser

by ragnta - Jam Entry

Hi everyone,

This is my first Ludum Dare project. I wanted to create a good simple game, but unfortunately I haven't got too much time, because I went to work at Saturday and Monday too ( -18 Hours). But I felt very well in this Weekend. :) My opinion is my game is very difficult, but I created God mode :) Enjoy it rate, and report the problem if you find :)

Best regards,
Szabolcs

--------------------------------------------------
Version 1
Post Mortem
Update 18/12: I write your reviews, and I design the post jam product. I am constantly updating the scope. Thank you for your review comment.

Update 22/12: I fixed the collision bugs, and I make some animations with Blender. I hope I will share the post jam product in next weekend. I uploaded an animation :) (Player character/Level1.)

Update 26/12: Update progress.

Update 27/12: Update progress, and release date. I uploaded a new animation. This gif contains all the player characters. The extra levels are descoped :(

----------------SCOPE------------------
1. Update collision detect
2. Update 'Fast' skill (Reduce speed)
3. Update physics of jump (Reduce speed)
4. Update graphics (I would like to use Blender in future, but I don't have knowledge now.)
LVL/Char/Status
1/Player 95%
2/player 95%
2/Enemy 70%
3/Player 95%
4/player 95%
4/enemy 70%
5/enemy 60%


------- DESCOPE :( ----

+ Extra levels(~10)


Release of next version: 28/12/2015


----------------------------------------------------

28/12: I released the first version. This version contains the following:
- player graphics update
- collision bug fixes (and new collision bugs :( )
NOTE: Now I have basic knowledge of blender.(It's Hard!)

-----------------------------
Version 2

---------SCOPE-----------
1. Update all the enemies
2. Update Enemy graphics
3. Update Collision
4. Extra Levels

Release Date: Unknown

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#672Audio(Jam)2.41
#955Theme(Jam)2.93
#1005Innovation(Jam)2.17
#1033Fun(Jam)2.31
#1073Overall(Jam)2.47

Comments

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

I don't known what is this alert. Why?

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

There were some bugs that make me go out of the room for apparently no reason so I had to restart the game. It's a bit sad because the game could be fun :)

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

Thank you for your response. I remembered this issue, but in the end I forgot that :(

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Amusing platformer. I think level design could be better. Holding the W key seems to speed you up and disable all collision, which can lead to problems.

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25pm

It was a pretty interesting base game, nice work for your first one!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Collision detection could use a little work.

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59am

I fixed the collision detect bugs, but don't refresh on Kongregate. Sry. :(

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:02am

I forgot to click publish. :(

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

The game seems too simple and hard for me but the level amount of content and the level design were pretty good.
Also the jump is really quick.
Good job anyway.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45am

I would love to play more, but the level design is just unforgiving

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Not bad, a few bugs, but nice game! ;D

Congratz on completing your first game! Do participate again! :D

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Annoying music and buggy collision detection, but oherwise good.

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:44am

I had fun playing it! It's just very hard (normal mode). In the second level I always died for some inexlicable reason..
Music is ok. Keep going!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:04am

Well, for a first Ludum Dare, you shall be proud of yourself. While the game is buggy to say the least, it does function mostly and you kind of finished it. The game is pretty mediocre, but for a first try, it is pretty much a good start I say!
Many, even some veterans tend to end up without a finished project, as such, I want to congratulate you!
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]