Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

32r

by Allthebees - Compo Entry

A short abstract isometric "story" game.

Shouldn't take more than 10 minutes to complete.

My first game jam and I finished so I'd consider that much a success.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#115Audio3.58
#181Mood3.46
#562Theme3.63
#602Overall3.10
#629Innovation2.90
#683Graphics2.71
#768Fun2.70

Comments

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Really nice work man! The sound design of this game is really cool. I also thought that the art gave off a unique atmosphere. Could do with a bit more actual gameplay, and character movement was a bit slow to move from one side of the room to another, but other than that keep it up!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Congrats on your first jam!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice concept, just the movement of the character was soo slow :/
But actually it's a nice game!

kailijan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I like the sound design, too. Well done! Finishing is indeed really good ;) It was also my first jam and I didn't...

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16am

I'm sorry, I can't rate Windows games!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

I liked the part where shia labeouf tried to encourage obama but one punch man exploded the wall anyways good luck with your egret problems michel!

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

I really enjoyed it! I think the atmosphere was very well established.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Very interesting! I liked it. It definitely has the mood down. The light music made the conversation seem more jovial, but when the brooding music comes in it really has some bite.

I also like the use of the theme. A and D are appropriate keys. Angel and Devil (good and evil) maybe? Very nice when a LD game can tell a story.

Not sure what happens with the flower pot in the middle. Seems a bit distracting, yet it gives some weight to the scene.

marmpa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20am

I really liked the game as well as the music. They really went good together and it really suit the theme.

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59am

I liked the surreal art style, especially the low poly stuff. Interesting narrative as well. I feel the avatar could have moved a bit quicker, but other than that great entry ;)

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:18am

Fascinating game! Really fun to figure out, good job guys!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06am

Art style was great as well as sound design!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:37am

One of the few representatives of this genre in the LD 34. Good !

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:32pm

The game is unique, really enjoyed it

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very different, great work for your first jam!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:42pm

text color could be a bit better (to stand out against the background) but overall a nice idea!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Thanks for playing our game, I did not really get your point about stating that it was made for the jam. We wrote it in Credits section of the game and it's a Jam Entry as written next to my nickname on game page.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:14pm

If you think we did it out of jam time, believe me it would be more of a complete game which is not true because we ran out of time. Only music and sound effects are outsourced using CC or public domain license and the ones with CC license are credited in Credits again.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Looks nice, but it hangs when I click Play. Besides that, the download was extremly slow, consider using another hoster. (Win 7 SP 1, Germany)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:45pm

@commodoreKid That's no problem, I was just a bit confused, thanks for explaining :)

@SirJavaGaming It's part of the gameplay (it's a bit ambiguous but you need to press multiple times). - I'll take a look thanks for mentioning it.

SnedHlepPls says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare! Despite its short length, I thought that this was a nice little game- the music made me relax until near the end when the ominous drone kicks in and you realise something(won't spoil! XD). I also liked how you interpreted the '2 buttons' theme.

I think that the colour of the text made some of the words a bit difficult to read when the text scrolled the the right hand side of the screen so the darker portion of the background was behind the text.

OwT says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:43am

Well that's a well thought out game! I'm impressed and actually amazed that I did it right the first time.
Graphics were pleasant for the eye. The music deepen the mysterious mood.
Great work! :)

themadknights says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:54am

Good concept and nice story! I really enjoyed the music and the atmosphere :D

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:04am

So many questions… why am I on a soil plane with a flowerpot in a polygonscape? 32R? Did I win when I went for the blue one, the red one restarted… What am I deciding exactly? Which one is lying? They didn't make that many statements, lying about what?

Anyway, good that you've finished on your first go. Going to make some tea now.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:10am

Very engrossing atmosphere. A shame it was so short. I was looking forward answering more questions.

Skruffye says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:07pm

An interesting little not-game with some very nice audio work and a good atmosphere. Certainly felt like there could have been more substance, but the core idea and execution were both sound. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]