Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The King!

by Domin0e_ - Jam Entry

YOU are the King, so get cracking!

Your subjects needs your advice and guidance, but be warned, they are a truly impatient people! If you take too long, they will just do however they please!

---

Tools Used:

Unity 5.3
GIMP 2.8

---

Controls
Use your Mouse or Y/N to say "Yes" or "No" to your subjects demands.
Escape will end the current game (This somehow slipped past the Readme!)

Gameplay
They game ends when all Tiles have been built on OR the MIASMA reaches your Castle!

Buildings
Buildings have 3 Levels, bar your castle (But your castle is, of course, the best!).
MINES produce ONE unit of ORE per Level, with the maximum being THREE ORE on a Level 3 Mine.
FACTORIES need THREE Units of ORE. They produce ONE TOOL per Level, with the maximum being THREE TOOLS on a Level 3 Factory.
FARMS produce 3/4/5 FOOD per Turn, depending on their Level. If a Farm cannot get ONE TOOL per Turn, it will only yield ONE FOOD.
If the Farm is tainted by MIASMA, it produces ONE LESS FOOD.
VILLAGES need 1/2/3 FOOD per Turn, and produce 1/3/5 GOLD COINS per Turn, depending on their Level.
If a Village is tainted by MIASMA, it produces ONE LESS GOLD COIN.
If a Village does not get enough FOOD, it produces ONE LESS GOLD COIN.

There are FOUR DIFFERENT TYPES of Tiles.
GRASS - Bright Green, standard Tile.
FOREST - Dark Green, BLOCKS MIASMA. Is turned into Grass if built on!
MOUNTAIN - Grey, BLOCKS MIASMA. Mines can be build only here!
MIASMA - Purple, SPREADS RANDOMLY. Impacts the performance of Farms and Villages.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Domin0e_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07am

I disabled the Graphics judging, since not everything is my own stuff - But if you want to let me know that I should not pursue a professional Artist career, feel free to let me know! :P

Domin0e_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15am

Uploaded new builds for fixing a few bugs regarding switching to the Game Over State.

Domin0e_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

​Uploaded yet another new Build with changes to the Miasma Spread. These will make it harder to keep the Miasma at Bay the longer you play! (1.2)

coywolf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50am

I'm on Windows 10, if I run the game full screen (the default), half the menu UI renders off the right edge of the screen and I can't start playing. If i run the game windowed, the buttons don't show up at all.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51am

interesting, working game. good work.

Domin0e_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32am

@coywolf Are you, by chance, running a resolution that is not 16:9? UI scaling is my arch nemesis.

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

Pretty cool! I was finally able to get it to work. I ended up having to play in windowed mode and change the resolution.

Domin0e_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Hey guys, I fixed the UI Scaling problems so you can (hopefully) click all the buttons!

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16pm

good work, nice idea

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:41pm

How do I get passed your title screen?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]