Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Explorer

by ac7 - Compo Entry

Play as a robot who has been sent to gather data on an unfamiliar world! A scientist will guide you by radio as you explore and discover. But make sure you're watching out for evil space aliens!

I bundled LOVE2D with my `robot_explorer.love` file for Windows, but for other platforms, you'll have to go to the LOVE2D (https://love2d.org) website and install the LOVE interpreter to play.

Unfortunately, I was very sick during the competition (still am) and ended up with a shorter game than I wanted. The whole thing can be completed in a couple minutes. Hopefully I'm better during the next competition and can concentrate on more game content.

Thank you for playing my game!

As stated in the Compo rules, I created all music, graphics, and code during the 48 hours.
- Music was done in Renoise.
- Graphics were done in Piskel and GIMP.
- Code was written in Neovim.
- My game uses the excellent LOVE2D (http://love2d.org) graphics/sounds library.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Audio3.89
#66Humor3.68
#91Fun3.79
#194Mood3.44
#233Theme4.00
#372Overall3.37
#467Graphics3.11
#571Innovation3.00
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:08am

Background music is amazing, i like that beat! Good job, dude! It is not 10/10, but game is great and you get lot a experience anyway. Good luck with your game. Can't wait play full polished version.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

/me furiously waves arms up and down like the robot

YAAAAY.

Solid game; the gameplay was solid with a few graphical glitches, but the dialog was spot on and prepared me for the awesomeness. You should add more levels and release a post-compo!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

The dancing robot with headphones was just great. Nice dialogue, I like the bit about "budget cuts." All in all colourful and fun. Wish it was longer, maybe work on it more.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

Lots of personality. I love the excessively pleased face of your radio contact as he lays down the news of budget cuts, while the robot coolly grooves to the music. And the beat-sync is a nice touch too, by the way. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Good job with the audio, the track along with the humorous dialogue and nice art give the game a very nice and unique feel! It really is one of those games that plays a ton better than screenshots give it credit for.

The only downside is that it was short, but I guess that in it self is good critique, wanting to play more :D

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59am

A bit short, even for a compo entry, but I liked the music. Maybe try to make a post-compo version with a larger level!

RiOrius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:55am

Short, but well done! Love the music, the graphics are charming, and I thought the left arrow/jump buttons were a fresh take on two-button platformers.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:07am

Game was a bit short, but had lots of personality. Love the dialogue. :D

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:10am

Ey, I love the mood of your game. The control are well resolved and the general atmosphere of the game is great! I reminded me the 8 bits games :-) great job!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:54am

Too bad you were sick as this was the setup of a cute and funny platformer. Will look for your next entry at LD35!

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:56am

The graphical style needed a bit of time, but then it grew on me. I like the way the movement works, not just the simple left and right that you'd expect with this theme. The music is well done, too. I wish this game would be a bit longer.

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:18am

I've really enjoyed it and that music is fantastic :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:28am

Hmm, interesting two-key mechanic. Shame the game is so short, doesn't have a chance to explore the mechanic's potential. The aesthetic is simple but light-hearted, music matches it well too. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]