Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Friendly Fire

by Osaft - Jam Entry

You only need your mouse to play this game.
LEFT: Controll the fire
RIGHT: Get a better view

In Friendly Fire you play a lovley little Campfire who unfortunatly got terrorized and bullied a lot by the “No-Fire-Clan”.
But now …. It’s ENOUGH!!
Use a powerfull tailwind to grow your Campfire to a roaring inferno and devour their stupid tower of Hatred!!


Screw You No-Fire-Clan !!! >=(



PC Version got an UI Bug if the game is started with 2 or more Screens!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#361Humor(Jam)2.91
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#644Audio(Jam)2.58
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#783Mood(Jam)2.82

Comments

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Burn it down! Nice Idea on the two-button theme. In some way it also fits "growing" :p

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Ha-ha, so "friendly"! You should make version of this game where player should rotate camera to right angle and then blow into microphone to spread fire! :D Also, nice graphics.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

This was a fun game. Or rather, the mechanics are fun but unfortunately it's way too easy. I understand that you could use two buttons (although I'm not sure how since the how to was very unspecific), but I just used one and won every time.

The wind sound makes me want to hurt people though.
That said, I did have fun playing it when it got a bit tricky. Propagation is always fun in games.

3 out of 5 humps.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Nice use of the theme. And game mechanics is pretty simple but satifying. I liked it. Thou it would be great if you had made more levels to burn more stuff :)

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:35am

fun game, cool concept, one or 2 more levels would have been nice

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Interesting concept, but the game is too short

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:51am

That was pretty fun! I like the wind sound effect. I also really like the fun atmosphere of the game. It all seems sort of silly, like it was written by a vengeful campfire.

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Pretty nice sound effects although it really needs a fadein/out on the wind sound.
Very cool idea, would love to see a full game with this. The game is also missing a restart button and a loading screen.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:38pm

The game is slightly glitchy, but idea is nice and gameplay is good.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Fun little game! Only problem I had was that it sometimes isn't (graphically) clear if you are blowing in the right direction and/or if it is effective till the object completely ignites.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Fun game, cool gameplay. I need this in GooglePlay!

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Nice little game, seemed quite difficult to get things to catch on fire sometimes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]