Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Carket

by StelarCF - Jam Entry

A game about a circle that grows by eating other circles of its color.

Windows version is out! You need to install the VSC2015 Redist and C runtime if you haven't already:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48234

Special thanks to:

WindowsBunny - compiling for windows (many thanks!)
ubsan_ - compiling for windows (many thanks!)
MysticPing - some ideas
Cziken20 - giving me a single minute of happiness on stream during which I thought my stream had people on it that weren't friends I linked it to :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#691Theme(Jam)3.48
#800Mood(Jam)2.78
#897Graphics(Jam)2.54

Comments

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Game crashed
I can't play.....

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

You forgot to add "VCRUNTIME140.dll" to the windows file ;).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The game plays well, however the speed at which the difficulty of the game increases can be changed perhaps.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Nice idea! Colors affects to the gameplay?

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Fun game! I like the concept, simple and innovative :)
Also ran great ootb on Linux.

StelarCF says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

exhidor: Yeah, I noted you need to install the runtimes :( unfortunately it's easier to compile with MSVC ABI than with GNU ABI on windows, and I haven't found anyone who would compile it with GNU, thus the dependency; and in my experience VCRuntime has some other dependencies, which makes it a bit awkward (as far as I can remember, at least)

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Amazing! I enjoyed it a lot! I will put this in my game collection!

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Great work! I like the "change color" mechanic. I tried the "Ultra hd" mode and it's a good challenge! The controls feel a bit laggy, not sure if it's intended or not.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I liked it. Very simple and to the point. UltraHD was the most fun.

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Cool game. Simple and fun.
Took a little while to figure out how the colour switching worked.
The menus should use the mouse rather than the keyboard.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Neat! I like the swapping colors mechanic. Really keeps you on your toes!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Simple, but well made! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]