Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Weeds

by Brandondyer64 - Jam Entry

Try to grow your plant from the ground, through the ocean, ice, a pirate ship, space, and a space craft.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#875Theme(Jam)3.14
#883Graphics(Jam)2.62
#896Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04am

Nice job, This was a fun game to play! I think around level 9 or speed 9 (whatever the number in the bottom left indicated) the textures of the blocks became what looked like static. I'm not sure if that was intentional, but it looked like a graphical bug. I did find it funny that I was a flower flying through space dodging blocks while this crazy music was playing :)

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10am

The audio really fit this game. Really nice!

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

There's not a lot to this game - it sort of feels like you submitted it when it was only halfway done, as for example there are several obstacle sprites for each of the first two levels, but only some weird black noise for the third and fourth (which made it unclear what they were supposed to be - I didn't know they were ice and a pirate ship until I read the description). That may have even been a bug, but I'm not sure.

Getting to see the different worlds is interesting, but there's just not enough gameplay to justify it.

Komradus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Quite fun to play. The music didn't seem right at first but after it really kicked in, it was awesome.

The density of the obstacles starts off really high in the first level, but seems to get much more clear later on when the speed increases. So it didn't really feel like it got harder as you grew.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

nice game

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Cool game. I enjoyed playing it. And nice work with sound!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Really kickin' music!
I played all the way to the end and damn it got hard
Gooood job!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19am

I really love the music!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Quite fun to play. Cute and minimalist aesthetic. Well done ++

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Cool mood!
Love the different levels.
Congrats, nice little game you have made.

acotis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Level 18 did me in, but only because I had to go eat dinner. Everything looked like it was sliding around after that.

I love the music, but I think it was a bit uncooperative with the visuals. I can tell multiple people worked on this :P

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Hah! That was some fun; and the name - hilarious! I really did enjoy this one! I am giving it a thumbs-up!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]