Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Life... yet, Death!

by UgiWithAKnife - Jam Entry

Take the role of Death to eradicate the ever growing humans. Reap souls to improve your killing abilities and try not to be overwhelmed but the rise of humanity.

The theme we choose is growing.

Game by Microwave: Nikola Zugic - code, Senka Zugic - art

Thanks for playing and please leave some feedback.

Recommended in windowed mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#262Mood(Jam)3.54
#416Humor(Jam)2.81
#499Audio(Jam)3.04
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#562Innovation(Jam)3.08
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12
#790Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Unfortunately i could not download the game - the link to the google drive says i need a permission before downloading.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Same, could not download it. It is a pity cause it looks like a fun game.

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Sorry about that, it is fixed now.

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

To fight against the growing population, as Death?? that's a good idea, i liked also all the powers you have to kill humankind, but I lack some gameplay that it's not about spamming the buttons and upgrading as fast as possible. Gj!! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

very cool take on the growth theme! very dark and interesting. if you take this game beyond ludum dare, maybe consider adding a pause function so you can upgrade your abilities without a time constraint and see more stats.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Oh
This game looks depressing, but interesting though
Nice take on a theme!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46am

I wasn't expecting to like this but I LOVED it. Dark and creepy to be sure but inexplicably compelling overall.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:09am

Great job. Cool art and music.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:22am

I liked this a lot. I think it's one of my favorites that I've played so far. My controls were a little wonky, but I played in fullscreen so maybe that was the problem (didn't see you recommended windowed until after. Other than that I think if you keep developing this a slow introduction to each death strike would be useful. As would button shortcuts. Overall though, it was very entertaining and a lot of fun. Great work and congrats on finishing!

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Big audio points for using classic music that fits your death theme. It's pretty dark subject matter but it's fun in that cookie clicker kind of way.

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Wow, this was so perfectly creepy. I really like that you took the theme and interpreted it as *stopping* something that is growing, contrary to what most did. The ending was perfect too, simple and effective. The two things that really made this shine for me was the animations and the sound design -- the music and the creepy sound, I don't even know how to describe it but it was spot on. Fantastic entry.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very nice concept with great audio and music.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:31am

I cal this game Killer Klicker. The reversed frantic music and the medieval style imagery create a good mood but I couldn't eradicate these pesky humans no matter what misery I deployed. Good fun though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]