Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

What does Sam do ?

by Garazbolg - Jam Entry

WHAT DOES SAM DO ?
That's a great question.
Come and discover the amazing story(ies!) of Sam. You start the story on a basic desktop, and then a plenty of different proposals offer to you.
Will you be able to get all the items and achievements ?
Many surprises have benn hidden in this game, it's up to you to explore all the universe.

This game can also be played in French. For that, download this and follow the instructions :
https://docs.google.com/uc?authuser=0&id=0B079MHwZcTRRVEFaVFhtSUNhV0k&export=download

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Innovation(Jam)4.27
#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#781Theme(Jam)3.33
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

YEAAAAAAAAA XP

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Loved it !
The gameplay is crazy, and it's really cool to try out all the possibilities ! Also, the graphics are amazing.

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58am

Cool game, reminds me a bit of Please, Don't Touch anything.

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12am

So many tasty options...

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

Not bad, though I wish the menu wouldn't disappear when my mouse leaves it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Interesting concept. Reminds me of Her Story.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01am

Loved testing all the otpions, really cool gameplay, good job on the writing!

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:01am

I think this was really great!
The win xp gfx reminded me a bit of "emily is away" ;)
The ited, that you explore stories through a context menu is really great, but it has one major flaw: it closes, once the cursor leaves a menu. It made me rage quit, after accidentially closin a really long chain :D
The sound system is awesome! It sets the mood extremely well. It's a bit tediuos to read lots of text, but here I had the feeling of going on a real journey starting on the desktop and extending into interesting worlds. The soundsystem helps imagining this worlds quite well!
Well done, great work :)

Dreyan says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:52am

Very, very amusing. The audio is both overwhelming and hilarious. It's frustrating how the menus are so sensitive to mouse leaving the newest window (especially since some dialogues are very long, and it's tedious to navigate across. However, very worth it to read through all the different options and see what happens. Made me laugh out loud a few times. ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]