Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Implausible Zone

by sim9 - Jam Entry

THE IMPLAUSIBLE ZONE
A Comedic Adventure

Henry visits a medical facility that promises to make him grow. He assumes this means to make him taller, but actually it makes him dragon-ier.

*** Quick video of first part of game is linked below! ***

---

This game was made in RPG Maker VX Ace. All of the audio is original. The art is part original and part generated by RPG Maker's Character Generator, as well as using their UI & font. Unfortunately I'm not able to work on the entry on Monday, or I would have liked to spend more time making the art better and using all original art (so I have opted out of graphics voting).

This game was made at the Seattle Jam location which I was also helping out at.

---- Credits ----

Written by
Robby Zinchak
@8BitMMO

Music and Sound
Evan Witt
wittynotes.com

Disco Music
Jonathan Reasor
abraxasrex.github.io

Narrator
Carl Craig Juarez
https://soundcloud.com/ntopia

---- Existing Scripts used ----

Word Wrapping Message Boxes, by: KilloZapit
http://www.rpgmakervxace.net/topic/6964-word-wrapping-message-boxes/

Skip Title Screen
http://www.rpgmakervxace.net/topic/271-skip-title-screen/

Fullscreen++ v2.2 for VX and VXace by Zeus81
http://www.hbgames.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=76084

Galv's Use Item on Event
http://galvs-scripts.com/galvs-use-item-on-event/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#69Humor(Jam)3.83
#142Audio(Jam)3.75
#367Fun(Jam)3.34
#384Overall(Jam)3.45
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#875Theme(Jam)3.14
#889Innovation(Jam)2.52

Comments

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Soundtrack was a pleasant surprise! The story was quite fun as well, even if too "implausible" to my tastes :D

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Can't play windows games. The intro is awesome.

blackwires says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Well, RPG maker, but a crazy scenario ! And yeah, great intro !

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Very cool!Good history and a nice soundtrack.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I was originally turned off because RPG Maker, but that was a surprisingly interesting game! It used creative adventure game logic without going overboard into Monkey Island territory, and the dialogue was cute.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:21am

It would help if you polished up the graphics; and also disabled the menu, because there are no RPG mechanics to speak of.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Very funny, and great use of the theme.

Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-not-found-team)

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I'm not fond of this type of game, but it's well written and funny so good job

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Let´s disco! Had a lot of fun playing it through and the voice over is awesome.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:19am

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It's good to see a fellow RPG Maker fanatic in this competition. I got a little collision error where the machinery and the restaurant meets. Anyway, it was a funny story with a couple of puns. And your take on the growing theme is somehow interesting and the fitting music is great.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:36am

good graphic and mechanics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]