Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Crazy Ball

by victorfisac - Compo Entry

'The Crazy Ball' is a "two control buttons game" made with a C programming library called raylib focused on videogames development. I developed a non aligned axis collision detection for circles and rectangles during the event and I decided to make a game based on it :D

Updated:
- Small physics collision bug corrected.
- Useless Exit button for Web build removed.
- Fixed shader incompatibility.

Objective:
- You have to create lines to collide the green square with the ball. You will earn more score if you use less lines and if you go fast!

Controls:
- Left mouse button - Create lines (2 clicks needed)
- Right mouse button - Delete line

My website: www.victorfisac.com
raylib website: www.raylib.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#42Fun3.93
#72Audio3.78
#206Overall3.61
#290Mood3.26
#426Innovation3.23
#601Humor2.08
#815Theme3.23

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:37pm

nice, I love how you've used the sound in conjunction with the gameplay. well done

Remblej says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23am

Collisions are buggy for me. Can't pass second level.
http://scr.hu/603v/at45g

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25am

Not quite what I thought of when hearing two button controls, but it is a fun puzzle game and the melody creation ist nice. You could have maybe taken notes of a famous melody for each level to expand on the sound component. Overall a fun little game

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25am

Neat little game. The sounds add a really nice touch that remind me of Elektroplankton

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

Okay, I'll start off by saying that I really like this game. It is really well put together and has a clean aesthetic that doesn't distract from the gameplay. However, I do have some suggestions for improvements if you'd like to take this further:
- Really run with the sound idea, base level design around creating music
- Take out the scoring aspect and make the mazes more puzzely (if that makes sense) rather than a trial and error physics kind of thing. On that note,
- Add a bit more variety into the gameplay through things like zones where you can't place lines, or areas/enemies that kill the ball.

Like I said, I really enjoyed this, and would love to see what you do with this in the future

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

The ball sometimes gets stuck in the lines, usually when it hits the ends of them, and it's kinda funny.

mnill says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:53pm

doesnt work in safari =(

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Works fine to me, Nice game

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Gameplay is great, man. I loved the last level. It is challenging. The weird sound is funny. Nice work, really. You should polish the concept a make a Smartphone game with it. 5 stars fun.

Pending Chaos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Awesome!

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Little collision bugs, but the game is great and had fun playing it!

shanton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The sound is great, but it doesn't really fit the theme very well

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Such simple fun, and clever use of sound.

JLET says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Interesting, i really appreciate de sound design. Unfortunately i encounter some bugs, sometimes clicks are not working and one time firefox crashed :(. Check my game, it has the same goal, bring a ball to a point but the gameplay is totaly different.

maguera93 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Very fun and made with raylib! Good job!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Wow, what a great concept. Suggestions: a way of restarting the level rather than starting from the beginning again.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Unfinished lines (1 click only) seem to affect the physics of the ball.

I was glad you only put 8 worlds in otherwise I might have been stuck playing all night long =D

rsf-krx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43am

It reminds me of a game I used to play when I was a kid called "Return of the Incredible Machine: Contraptions". Although this game is much simpler, it was fun and the sound was used really well

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07am

Great concept! Sucked me in right away. The levels are neat, difficulty progression is perfect. It would be nice to see more visual polish.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17am

The Game was simple and yet fun. Probably what you would think of when you say: 2 button controls. And I fixed the updating issue(HeXor). You can play it if you'd like :)

koocachookies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Real interesting entry. Very addictive and nice to play. The sound makes the game very pleasant to play.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Really good, the piano was a nice touch!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39pm

WOW i loved this game i love these type of games so fair play on this :)

Will check other games you made :)

Well Done!

monsterkillu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:26am

Lovely and Interesting game. Reminds me of kinetics game I played a long time ago. I checked out the Raylib library also. Good job. Maybe you could contribute tutorials to the Raylib I guess. Awesome..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]