Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Run Forest

by WilpelMakeGames - Compo Entry

This game is called Run forest and it is about a guy that is running in a forest and jumping over stuff and dodging deers and thats about it :D

I know the game is really easy....

There is a few bugs so if you find one please tell me

hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#350Humor2.66
#398Mood3.07
#501Fun3.13
#504Audio2.59
#632Overall3.06
#661Graphics2.77
#677Theme3.47
#900Innovation2.19

Comments

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14am

Cool game! My fingers started to hurt from holding right so long. Lol got to the end though.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14am

Nice snowmen!

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18am

This was pretty nice, but got a bit repetitive. The shadow effect around the edge of the screen was pretty.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28am

Glad to see a ☃ game.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:07am

Suit the theme well, and nice atmosphere. But the mechanic is kinda boring.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Having to press enter to start or retry every time was annoying up or right would have been better.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I like your graphics man

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Fun game, it seems like a lot of work was put into it!

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

The mood is incredible. Love the audio. Except for that one single floating block to overcome 3 deers it wasn't all that challenging, but I had a lot of fun with the levels where you needed to ease down on the right button to not fall and thus fall back closer to the crumbling front.

At some point the level intro text only spouted the "do you want to try again?" line or none at all.

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Got stuck on level 9. Really fun though. Good Job.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Runner type of game. Gets old really fast.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Well done !

ripatti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

After talking with a snowman you are running in a forest at night jumping over mad deers and bloody rivers while ground behind you just falling down from under the feet. Very surreal game. But I like it!

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

It was cool, but I think you should work on trying to make the jump based on how long the key is held down. That would make it feel much better and give the player a higher level of control.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Cool game, i like the deers

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I really liked this game :) i was kinda gutted i didnt get something xmas themed into my entry so fair play for that :) music sometimes was proper glitchy but overall i enjoyed it

Well Done!!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:15pm

After avoiding legions of suicidal deers I changed your "You won" screen a little to better describe my feelings towards them. Here it is: http://i.imgur.com/6QjyPro.png

Overall a nice game! The mood is great and ambienty and graphics are lovely! Controls were a bit unresponsive when trying to nail some of the more difficult jumps.
Good job! :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Fun game! Scary too. I found the idea of running away from the world falling apart behind me to be terrifying!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Run Forest Run. Dynamic and fast game with nice graphics, good job

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I enjoyed playing this game even though I find some inconsistencies or part of the level design to be problematic. I think a couple of tweaks here and there would help this game stand out, which you can do for the post-compo version.

Cool stuff.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:01pm

I liked the graphics, especially the reindeer...
Took a few goes to realise I could stop in mid air, but I got there...!

The ambient audio in the background added to dark, oppressive feel...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]