Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Micro Danmaku

by makiki99 - Jam Entry

Simple and relatively easy danmaku (bullet hell) game. This game uses the 'Two button controls' theme. This means you can only steer your ship with left and right arrows, and autofire is always on. Since this is a danmaku, hitbox of your ship is much smaller than ship's sprite, and you get bonus points for just barely dodging enemy bullets (this is called grazing).

It is made with HTML5 using allegro.js library for easier loading of assets.

And well, I am so awful at making graphics, but at least you see what is happening in this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#681Theme(Jam)3.50
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#797Mood(Jam)2.79
#873Graphics(Jam)2.65
#1025Innovation(Jam)2.04
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39am

Pretty hard, starting with a boss fight. It would have been more satisfying to shoot some weak minions before getting to the boss. It plays nicely though. Quite a challenge.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03am

Pretty hard, indeed ^^', can't do more than 7500.

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03am

Crazy hard, but it fits the theme well. I see why it shoots continuously, but I barely looked up at the enemy, keeping my focus just around my ship to try and slide past the bullets.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17am

I don't think this boss is hard enough. I noticed there were several small areas on the screen that didn't have bullets in them.

Reisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

Fun patterns. #2 is interesting, because this pattern is one that typically needs a vertical movement. 30575.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I think it's only going to be relatively easy to those who play these kinds of games a lot. I can't get past 7000ish points, but the game well made. Lot's of contrast so it was never hard to tell what was going on. Wish there were sound effects though.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Oh! I love this kind of games, It is hard but I like it a lot, the enemy bullets moves enough slow so I can avoid most of them. Great job!!!

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I can barely survive second pattern, but after I don't have enough lives to complete the rest. Fun bullet hell game overall, you designed these patterns well. Graphics are clear and that's what important in that kind of game.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Oh I love bullet hell games! Very hard, but it was very fun indeed.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Hard for sure, but still lots of fun.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Definitely not a game for me XD
I gave it a try, and it was hard but seems to be right what one can expect for that kind of game.
I think that an appropriately stressing music would have been a plus. ;)

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

That second pattern is quite something, even if you can dodge it by staying as close to middle as possible and slightly moving left and right after every few homing shots. Couldn't get over 15k points. Refreshing to restart was a bit tedious.

yhsper says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Haha, very hard game, but fun!

psychonull says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Great game! Some sfx and a quicker way to restart would add a lot of value!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]