Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sonar Vision

by AlexHonor - Jam Entry

Sonar is the only input from the outer world. And 2 buttons your only output. Survive as long as you can among dangers of the world. Use resource values and your logic to determine if the current UFO your sonar registered is just a piece of resources you can harvest or is it a an armored ship with enemies.

Controls:
E - engage
H - harvest

w,s or up,down arrow - change target

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.92
#77Audio(Jam)3.96
#105Mood(Jam)3.87
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#528Humor(Jam)2.63
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#663Graphics(Jam)3.16

Comments

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

Pretty clever use of energy and harvest, although it's a bit confusing at first. Also the web version seems to have parts of the intro text going off the screen.

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21am

I thought this was pretty cool. Although, it is really confusing at first. So much to read and look at. I had to double take a lot on what to actually do.

Love the sounds and the attack shake.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:32am

I loved the use of interface-as-narrative; all you had was a scanner and some buttons, and the screenshake from being attacked, which left the visuals and what was going on to the imagination. It took me a while to understand how resource gathering worked, and what the purpose of the Ladel was. It was pretty hard to stay alive for long, but the challenge was fun. The resource gathering and lack of movement felt like an Idle Game, like Cookie Clicker, but much more interactive.

Thanks for putting this together! I enjoyed playing it.

Eikinel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:31pm

It was hard to understand the first time, but with time it was pretty fun. You did the jam well ! Take my 4 stars :P

muffty says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

hard game is hard. I really like the idea, but I always die

mr. a says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Excellent concept (and audio), but I find myself tripping over the execution a bit.
Some issues I encountered:
- Text spilling offscreen in web version (less so in fullscreen, but still occasionally there too).
- Survival time in game over seems to always say 0:0:0 after the first game.
- Targeting -- it seems like the nearest target should be prioritized, or encounters should resolve faster (asteroids/enemies go down or pass by faster) relative to the spawn rate, or the player should be able to cycle targets, or the E/H choice should apply to the most recently pinged object. (Though perhaps this is only an issue if you first engage an asteroid, then try to harvest it, and in the end it just passes out of range, preventing you from doing anything about the next blip or two.)

Of course, this didn't stop me from playing a couple dozen or so times--it's still a very interesting entry--but it seems like this could be even better with a little more time/love. Hope you consider continuing dev in a post-LD version!

matiz982 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:48am

Great resources system. Upgrading works great. I haven't seen any bugs. Good overall. Good job! I want post-jam version

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Not sure why, but it's too laggy for me to play. Which is a shame, it looks so cool

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Oops, sorry my comment was on the wrong game :P For this game:

I'm... really confused, I can't seem do to anything. Hostile ships seem to come straight away and just kill me and there doesn't seem to be anything I can do to avoid that.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:22am

Web version lags quite a lot (on Firefox) and the mechanics are pretty hard to understand at first but it's a very interesting concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]