Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tubutten Beetle

by YinYin - Compo Entry

Tubutten ‘TeeBee’ Beetle hungers for floating pappus berries, yet cannot fly himself.

BUT
HE
CAN
ROLL

Tap left and right towards the vines to speed up.
Avoid spikes and try to feast on a 100 pappus berries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#234Fun3.50
#261Humor2.86
#397Audio2.81
#404Theme3.82
#463Overall3.25
#554Mood2.87
#590Innovation2.99
#617Graphics2.86

Comments

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Challenging game. This could be fun on mobile too.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Fun and very addictive to play. The graphics are simple, but that's really all it needed. It's reminiscent of a lot of old mobile games (ninjump comes to mind).
Sound effects are satisfying.
If you take this further, it would be nice to have a competitive online scoreboard, and see where other players have reached.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very nice game. Solid entry for the first time LD attendee. One minor improvement would be if you click to the opposite side it would immediately make the jump. Since we tap to climb, tapping to jump makes the bug stutter. But that's just nitpicking. Overall nicely done.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I really want to like this game even more, but because you have to mash A or D to gain speed playing the game becomes really tiring for my fingers, but this could probably be fixed really fast.

When it comes to the graphics, I really like the way you portrey speed while playing. On the other hand, the audio is too repetitive and not enjoyable to listen to.

The idea is solid, but combined with the fact that you have to mash A and D to progress, and the fact that it takes a solid 30 seconds of button mashing to actually get to a point where you can get berries, the fun factor drops quite a bit.

Anyway, thank you for the game! Great first entry into Ludum Dare and hopefully I can see your games in the future too!

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Thanks for checking it out everyone :D

I might really look into developing it further.

@icereci: This is by design. While the initial reason was to add more mechanics, it is now very useful to stretch out your hit box for catching berries otherwise out of reach (while jumping) or grab them without having to jump at high speeds. Because your hit box becomes very thin the faster you roll.

@Ildfuglen: There are mute buttons in the top left for both audio and just music. The tapping to speed up your score increase is definitely something that needs to stay, but not for everyone. If it were running at the intended 60 fps you could casually play this without excessive tapping and only nosh on the berries for speed boosts >_<

I updated all builds in an attempt to fix any problems on machines that refuse to throttle down to the targeted ~60 fps, but I'm afraid I missed out a few things (you may see the game running too fast and the score increasing too slow).

A future version shall be entirely frame rate independent! Like other games I made before - rushing the first day really made me forget about it, but at least I got it done pretty feature complete on time.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

With polishing, this could make a nice mobile game! Good job. :)

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Very simple concept, but so addictive ! GG !

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

This surely won't win an award for innovation, but it was very well executed and played very "juicy" :) Well done!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really fun game. I can see this being a thing on mobile.

The graphics could use a bit more work. (Anti-aliasing would help the jagged edges.)

I was confused by the red spiky thing. Is it a power up, or am I supposed to avoid it?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cool little game, I liked the graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

@gkxd: The red spiked ones are currently just as dangerous as the unripe spike ones, since TB has no means to remove their spikes (missing mechanic). So for now they are just a trap. Avoid them.

@Jupiter_Hadley: Nice! Thank you. Goes to show I probably need to make at least one edible appear a lot sooner (else you are missing out on all the real fun).

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Good idea and implementation! Good luck!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

the button mashing brought me back to playing california games, now all is an equivalent of that hacky sack game

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Very simple but very fun. I played it far longer than I should. My fingers hurt now =D

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Crazy fun game! I loved how fast it feels once you start getting those red and blue berries!

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

A very nice idea you should definitely think about porting this to phones :D

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Fun game, took a while for obstacles to spawn but good nonetheless!

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

@Piode: Thanks, I intentionally left a variable amount of time there for a new player to get used to the controls (taking it slow, jumping around a bit and figuring out how to speed up by tapping) as well as proficient ones to rapidly skip past that time frame (speed up and it'll be over within a few seconds).

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Can't play. hold/tap < > on the start screen does nothing

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

@nunesbarbosa: are you using the web version? Maybe the game doesn't have focus (I've had this reported from other players before, yet they got it working later).

If you can't get one version to work maybe try another one (web/download)?

Teren says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

It's quite hard :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:08am

Very fun game! Really fast mechanics and cool visual effects, really liked it!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57am

A simple, yet fun game! I like how you made the game fair in terms of reacting to obstacles!

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Seen similar things on mobile, fun nonetheless.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14am

I would say the game needs some polish to be really fun, but the basics are there and I enjoyed playing it and beating the developer high score, heheeheh.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

nice, like everyone said already, this would make a great mobile game, well done

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

HEY THERE FELLOW BEETLE LOVER!
Nice game.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

Challenging simple casual game. Fun to play for a shot time. Graphics weren't bad but can easily be improved upon. Good Luck!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58am

Fun little game. I love bouncing backwards and forwards off the wall!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Excellent and fun! The speed sensation is marvellous and it's very rewarding to catch these little fruits. Well done!

Tacohej says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Seems like a game that you would see on appstore/google play for mobile. Good try and effort, however I think the game isn't that fun to play since it is so repetitive. In order to make a game like this to work the difficulty level needs to be very well balanced, which I think this game could improve.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Good job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Well done on a first LD! I also like the effects on the beetle for speeding up - the squishing against the wall, the shaking of the frame, etc.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:16am

Not bad, seems like I'd have more fun if when I went to jump to another wall if I was forced to follow through rather than being able to pull back. Otherwise I liked it!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:17am

Fun game. Strangely addictive. Could perhaps use a little more balancing. Good job on the powerup effects.

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:23am

@bazkur98: being able to change direction is very important to navigate the screen once it gets more crowded. It's also useful to shorten your air time at the beginning by just jumping around obstacles - as being off the walls slows you down faster than just rolling on a wall without tapping towards it.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:27am

Cute - reminds me of the ipad game trees of doom. Fun!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

Absolutely hilarious! Once I figured out that you jam on the button to go hyperspeed, the game became ridiculously awesome! I recommend putting on some Reline OST music and jamming your keyboard into oblivion!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:58am

Not bad, so simple but very addictive, good job!

Garris says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:30am

Neat mechanic. I like rain games with a little depth to them like this. your jump is quite satisfying, and I like tapping to speed up. I'd recommend adding a check to make sure that berries you need to pickup don't spawn right on top of spikes. Red berries are hella rad though :]

Drury says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:45pm

This is super intense, Redline OST has you covered. Seriously when you develop this further, get a dance/techno artist to do the soundtrack.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:10am

I did not know about redline and must kindly thank you for the music reference pointer! Or whoever first suggested that on Imagos Softworks stream :D

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:09am

I really liked the game. Pretty cool concept of being able to tap while against the wall to go faster. Only "issue" is that it made me a bit motion sick from seeing the graphics on the side. Not sure how you would resolve that, but other than that, it was good.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:43am

Web version isn't working for me, I tried Chrome and Firefox.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:52am

Very nice game you have here, was though to figure out at first, but once I got going, I really cranked it up to 175.000 ish, sweet game, nice audio too, lot's of fun!

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:49pm

@Ioxo: what exactly happens? If it's just a black screen I'm sure the server is just slow at delivering all the data to you.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:29pm

This was good fun, i managed to go so fast I apparently turned red and caught fire, I'm not sure if it was a power up or an Easter egg but it made me laugh.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:33pm

@speciesUnknown: it's a feature :D

You can either eat berries or tap hard enough to reach higher speeds.

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Everything works fine, but it's not something that will keep my interest for long. The red spikes were a smart addition.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Nice little game! Well done!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Nice little game, would play on my mobile device.

Drury says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I kind of want to see you beat it though, with buttoncam and all. I'm having major troubles with a turbo'd controller.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:48pm

@Drury: not with a button cam (I use arrow keys), but here is me beating it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-ZHXGuHXEc

I can only reach the first low fire speed with mashing myself (not even all the way into solid red like eating a berry), but I know a player who can reach up to yellow speeds through mashing (essentially it doesn't get any harder, it's all endurance once you've ignited).

However you don't really need to tap hard to beat the game, ever. That just helps getting to some berries quickly and then retaining any boosts longer.

barret907k says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:28am

Fun simple game. Way to go.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

Didn't had more than 3, but very fun to trying ! Well done ! :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

Sprites are kinda big which makes it hard to react in time. Rolling up the walls is pretty clever. Could have a bit more variety, but good start!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

I dont know if its intentional that you can mash a key to get superspeed, but it makes for some nice and stressy feel. However, the obstacles still only come very slowly and its kind of easy to evade them. Id propose different speeds but fixed "lanes" for the obstacles :)

Drury says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

http://i.imgur.com/oJ24NQU.png

Put turbo in the bin, did it with old fashioned arrow key abuse and perturbator's theme

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhALL_krWpQ

My face looked like the guy's by the end.

YinYin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

@simon.parzer: very much intentional, it allows you to reach higher value berries and berry frequencies faster. The obstacles being easy to evade is intentional as well. I may experiment with changing the speed, but I prefer keeping things within the average reaction speed limit (and that's where this is currently at). Also fixed lanes are rather boring to me. As you go faster you also become slimmer, which is a deciding factor when it comes to judging whether you can squeeze past the spikes or not.

@Drury: Well done! Trophy awarded!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Cool game, simple yet addictive. Well done!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:44am

Scored 72182!
Great game! Simple graphics but smooth gameplay! It needed some background with parallax. I discovered the power-ups by accident by hitting the ball without spikes thinking I would die!
Great Job! Continue improving this game to release on mobile!

Krafty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Pretty fun! :) I got 1004 but no berries, I'm not very good =P

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:39am

He can rock'n'roll :D Good game, and the controls, I wish there were berries at the beginning (didn't see a single one), seeing only spikeballs is demotivating

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:40am

Solid entry! :)

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Awesome turbo-feedback! It was fun!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Jump physics were kinda floaty but other than that, this was an absolutely addictive entry to play and I really liked how well you've implemented the controls in your game.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:04am

nice little game which is also very addictive! very well done!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great game, it just needs some polishing to be a good mobile game. Music needs some work though.

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Nice game but please improve on me having to spam the buttons. Also, a goal would be nice.

YinYin says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:00pm

You don't have to spam buttons - eating berries will do just fine. And your goal is getting 100 of them.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:32pm

For a first Ludum Dare game it's constructed very well and I had hardly any issues really. Some gameplay tweaks although might be needed as I racked 15,000+ score with only tapping the right button and not doing anything. (My highest score was 200,000+ those red berries were powerful!

The only reason I stopped playing is because after a while my arm/wrist got tired from tapping so much. I feel like those spikeballs should speed up with the faster your tapping, some sort of high risk, high reward type of gameplay as I didn't find myself jumping to avoid the spikey berries as much.

The graphics, while simple are very charming and do the job, although maybe a nice scrolling background would be nice. (Like some hills/mountains in the distance would of been nice.)

I wasn't overly keen on the music but knowing how short of a time we have it's perfectly acceptable.

Overall it was a nice solid first entry into Ludum Dare! I hope to see more!

I'm sorry my review isn't as long and detail as yours >.<

YinYin says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:11pm

@SinclairStrange: Ah, but you didn't have quite as much material to review. And you've spotted all the real important issues I've already addressed more or less in my new build :D so that's reassuring!

Music was a first for me and I spend a lot of time making sure it would not tire me out while play testing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]