Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rogue Blast

by Tjakka5 - Compo Entry

Rogue Blast is a very basic Rogue Like.

You start off with nothing but your gun, but as the game progresses you get access to a passive item, and 2 active items.
These items will help you kill off every enemy in a level, until you inevitably die.

In each level there is a set amount of "inhibitors". Shoot them to destroy them.
Inhibitors also randomly spawn enemies, which will shoot back. Don't get hit or you'll instantly die.

Destroying all inhibitors and killing all enemies will let you progress to the next level.


CONTROLS:
WASD To walk.
Arrow keys to shoot.
Left Shift to activate item 1.
Space to activate item 2.

Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/justin-van-der-leij/ludum-dare-test-3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#143Audio3.48
#324Fun3.36
#463Overall3.25
#655Humor1.91
#672Mood2.70
#773Innovation2.61
#798Graphics2.43
#966Theme1.79

Comments

TurtleP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39am

Interesting gameplay. Music's pretty good and well-inspired I must say. Controls felt a bit clunky, but it was fun overall!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Fun game, music was good. I do agree with TurtleP however, the game didn't respond to the controls as fast as I would have hoped, but it was a fun game to play. Well done :)

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:32pm

A lot of fun to play, and the ramp up in difficulty gave you the right amount of tiem to get the hang of different mechanics before it threw something else at you. The music was fantastic.
The game felt like it would do well if it were turn based, the enemies taking a step each time you made yours, encouraging more tactical thinking as opposed to just kiting everything and filling everything with bullets quicker than they can hit you. Otherwise, perhaps a smoother movement animation would have been nice.
Graphically, the only big complaint I have is the contrast: walls and floors, and even the enemy spawners were essentially the same colour. There was nothing to really differentiate between them. Changing the colours of these would make the game easier to pick up while still maintaining the difficulty.
Overall, a very nice entry.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

An excellent entry. The music was indeed catchy.

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I really enjoyed it! I didn't realize till I was a few levels in that the enemies moved to the (really great) music. It kind of added a nice element where I timed my movements around the music to avoid bullets and enemies. I thought the use of the theme wasn't the greatest, but the fun was there, which is one of the most important parts!

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Tyler: They do?
If so, thats completely unintentional. x)

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Pretty good game, though a bit of UI like an icon or something for items would be nice to have :)

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Megalovania makes everything better.

I had trouble getting into the game; I couldn't figure out an effective strategy besides going back and forth and spamming into the masses. It feels that the game is too unresponsive to warrant an action approach, and yet too realtime to allow roguesque planning. Neither of the themes was recognizable ingame.

The confusing, shades-of-gray map visuals don't help. Quick improvements I can think of include a health bar and direction-indicating sprites for the projectiles.

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Basically fun, as the other comments say, could use improvement all around, but certainly is a good effort for the compo. Music is still fresh after 10 minutes so that's saying something.

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Finestep: Thanks; I do agree that the game is unresponsive at times, reason being that movement is entirely tilebased (To make collision a lot easier for me).

This was the first time I've ever tried to make something that was supposed to be a rogue like. And I did notice that a lot of things just didnt quite work, like the art style and tiled movement.

The next one will be better ^^

SamH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

This was a LOT more fun than expected. The music plays a good part in that (because, well, the graphics aren’t there yet ☺)

My #1 request would be to render intermediate positions for each moving object, so that at least I can see in which direction the bullets are heading.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Nice bit of weird grid-based bullet hell there. I like that there's a real sense of progression throughout the level; working your way to the heart of enemy camps to take them out. But why is the background music Megalovania? (Also, let me move diagonally)

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32pm

SamH: I was planning on doing that, but never really got to actually implementing it. I was also afraid it would make the game feel "unfair", as it then doesn't show the bullet position accuratly.

Yokcos700: I had no inspiration at the time, so I decided to take a fun song, copy the melody in FL studio, and my own beat and such, and call it a day.

Also, I originally had diagonal movement, but it was a tad buggy; so I decided to remove it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

More fun than I thought it would be, though I'm not quite sure how it fits either theme. Music was good though.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

Nice job. I like the assets. I imagine this would be a better game if it only moved when you did.

wesley werner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26am

This game is fun, the sounds and music add a nice touch. It gets pretty crazy real quick in level 2, and making enemies move turn-based when you move would add a tactical element.

diemitery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

I r8 gr8 game m8 8/8

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Interesting and different game, I like the hardcore aspect of the game and it has nice music!

Overall a great entry! :)

Karai17 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun little game! I noticed a few bugs. The title is spelled incorrectly, and when I press return on the how to play screen, it crashes.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]