Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Taylor Vance

by tmax8908@yahoo.com - Jam Entry

Your pointer revolves around the player. Hold any key to lock direction, and the pointer will start sliding back and forth from the player. Release the key to zoom in the direction and magnitude of the pointer. Collect the pickups and try to beat your score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

I've got a Windows Machine, and cannot run OS/X only programs.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Will play and rate this when I have access to an OS/X machine in a few days.

jayitinc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

An OS X only game... wow thanks...

crucknuk says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

Can't test it, I don't have an OS/X device ^^
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8FnACj25xM

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:17pm

It's a bit poor, but something can be done with this concept of moving.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:57pm

@jayitinc please get off your high horse for a second and try to understand that this is the first game I've ever built. I would have loved to build for web but I didn't have the tools or the time to get them and learn how to use them. Don't have a mac? Ok, there are thousands of submissions for windows. Move on.

danbolt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Oh, yeah, I have an OS X machine!

Cool idea. I like how the controls were minimized to only a click. This sort of thing could be made into the kind of mobile games that Ketchapp does well. If you polished the gameplay up, it would make a great app.

During gamelplay, I found moving around a bit difficult. Or, sometimes I felt as though the circle didn't go in the direction I always thought it was going to. Being able to change the velocity is smart, although maybe a bit difficult to get going fast. To be honest, I spent a lot of time trying to line up my shots in the same direction, so I wouldn't have minded if the circle moved at a fixed speed.

Overall, cool idea with such a minimal control scheme! Thanks for uploading!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:03pm

@crucknuk, same to you. I know the game is nothing fancy. I didn't make it to win. I didn't even make it for lots of people to play. I made it simply to make it.

@Stuntddude, thank you for your interest.
@OctoStudio, thank you for the honest criticism.
Everyone else, your comments are pointless.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Thanks @danbolt! (yes, I realize this @username thing doesn't work ;)

"circle didn't go in the direction I always thought it was going to"
I wanted to experiment with physics but I realize it's tricky to get the hang of. You have momentum, so you can't turn on a dime. Thanks for the feedback. I had fun making it and would love to polish it someday.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]