Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Long Long: A snake lies in the Past

by Tapehead - Jam Entry

FIRST OF ALL
============
Thank you very much everybody for such great and constructive feedback to our entry. We appreciate and read every single one of them. We want to get better and make better games in the future and you guys helped us get to the next step in the process.

We reworked and updated our game with better controls, more checkpoints, and much more.

DESCRIPTION
===========
Go on an epic long Adventure Puzzle with Long - the ridiculously long and always growing snake. Crawl through mystic woods, find the magical sword, fight through terrifying dungeons and help the princess in danger.
please rate / vote and comment - thanks

2 guys made everything within the 72 hours (except the music)

CONTROLS
========
[arrow/wasd] move
[spacebar/right ctrl] action

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Graphics(Jam)4.49
#125Humor(Jam)3.59
#137Audio(Jam)3.77
#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#265Innovation(Jam)3.48
#487Fun(Jam)3.19

Comments

illraceyou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

It's a really neat concept, but the pausing while statues move/dialogue can sometimes kill you when the game resumes. Also, it's not clear when you hit a checkpoint

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Very cool game! A great tribute to the Zelda games. Great job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Looking good, likes the feeling of the game. It was a little hard to control though. felt like it would not take the next command fast enough after another.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08am

Great game. Hard as hell.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

@illraceyou thanks! :) you're right with the checkpoints and the dialogues, we've not thought through or better say not enough time to set them right .. but we thinking about to release a version with fixes for this and other problems

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

@Riftpoint than you! we are glad you like it :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

@Drauthius thanks! :) yeah for us too :D .. we tested a many different timings for the imput and this one was for us both the best .. so we keep it

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

@thecatspajamas thank you so much for playing and streeming! true! it's hard for us too :D

mat1er says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Great, except that the just is awful to use.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Really nice retro graphics!

Tacohej says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:59pm

The art and music is great. However, it doesn't save the game from the terrible game play. Would like to explore the areas, but it is impossible because of the nature of the game. Sorry, but this was not fun to play.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Great graphics, idea, sound and atmosphere.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Great work! Keep it up!

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:57am

Wow that pixel art it's so amazing!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:44am

Great game, but dialogues are really unnecessary.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:46am

Really liked the theme adaptation and the Snake x Zelda tribute :)
The sound when Long hit something made +1 star on Humor, though :D

Nice entry, well played!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:46am

Beautiful game. I'm impressed with what you could achieve here. Music and visuals are great and Gameplay is fun. Aïe !

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Nice, an old-school RPG snake. :D Looks great.

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Really cool take on a beloved classic. The graphics are amongst the best I've seen on the jam. The gameplay is really good too, but I think you guys made it a bit too hard on the player.

Maybe more checkpoints, or making it clear when you reach one, could help this game be even better!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:00am

I like graphics, sound effects and music in this game. I also like how you used classic mechanic of snake. However the game trolls you quite a lot. This includes rare checkpoints. I also think that it wasn't so responsive. I couldn't manage to finish the game but I'd love to. Good job.

siege says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:32am

Pretty unforgiving with the checkpoints, but overall fun.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:19am

@mat1er Thanks for playing and the feedback. Usability is something we want to improve.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:22am

@goodbadokay Thanks! Oldschool Pixel Art is the best!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:23am

@Tacohej Thank you for your feedback! Yeah we know it is kind of hard. we want to improve the usability in the future so it is more friendly to a starting player

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:24am

@Tangible Games Tank you very much appreciate it!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25am

@ShaunJS Hey Shaun first of all thank you for playing and reviewing it on your twitch tv channel! keep it up too looking forward to some other streams from you

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:26am

@marod Thanks! I had a lot of fun pixeling it... click click click

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:29am

@CremaGames Thanks for the feedback! Hey... the are part of an adventure game right? So we had to include them.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:31am

@Lullaby Thanks a lot for your comment and that you rate our game! yeah the sound.. we couldnt decide if its good or bad haha. so we stuck with it because it was so strange and funny at the same time

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:32am

@Blake_Lead Thanks! really appreciate it. not so much sleep helped us to achieve all of it

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:33am

@zebi24 Thank you! Yeah at first it was strange for us too when we tought about it. But it turned out... it was not the a so bad idea

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:36am

@alvarop Hey Thanks! We are feeling blessed. And thanks for your feedback and ideas. We grew up with the old school graphic stuff and still like it to the day so we want to continue go into the direction. We want to fix and upgrade usability and game hardness.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:39am

@commodoreKid Thanks for playing and trying to reach to the end. Its hard we know... we are looking forward to fix the difficulty of the game. We want players to reach to the end bc we think the most players didnt even reach to the even harder part with the Desert Design haha.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:00am

@siege Thanks for playing! We will fix that with the checkpoints in the near future. we are with you... it is to unforgiving right now.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:17pm

looks and sounds very good. coming out of pause mode and some weird leveldesigns made this game feel a bit unfair

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:50pm

@the-arrival Thanks! yeah we will improve that unfairness at some points in the game.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Loved the graphics style, and the mashup of Snake and Old school RPGs... I assume there is some sort of bonus for collecting all the rupees, but I gave up on doing that... Long Snake is too much for sleepy brain...

Also, +1 for Snake in his box...!

banana4life says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I like your graphics, the music and the idea but i really really hate the controls. For me they destroy the fun. Sadly.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:35pm

@Xeke_Death Thanks! Yes of course there is some sort of bonus. We know its pretty hard to reach that.

haha solid says thank you!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37pm

@banana4life Thanks for playing our game and the feedback. we currently working on a Post-Jam Version with improved controls. It should be a bit easier in the future to control Long.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:35pm

I do wish there were more checkpoints, but the game itself was fun and funny! Very pretty!

arzi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Haha, great work mixing Zelda and snake :D

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Graphics and music are awesome! But I have a few issues with the game. For a game where it's so easy to die, there aren't a lot of checkpoints. Having to replay 4 screens because you hit the front of the stone with the sword in it sucks.
That would maybe be less of an issue if you got some time to look around when entering an(new)area but you instantly have to move. (And probably screw yourself over because of that)

Lastly I think it would have been nice if the snake moved smoother. A few weeks ago I made a snake game in Python and what I did was make the speed 1/X th of the tile size and only allow the character to change direction when 'on grid'. It's practically the same but there are more frames where the character moves. (Which I personally enjoy more)

Overall very nice entry!

vetch says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:48pm

The idea of combining snake and Zelda, seemed kinda weird to me, but this game... is just cool

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Gorgeous visuals. Great music. Gameplay wise this is the most frustrating game I've played so far. The controls are incredibly unforgiving and the checkpoints are incredibly sparse.

The worst is when you see the sword glistening in the middle of the screen and you slither up to the pedastal and... die? It would have been a funny joke, if you didn't get sent back so many screens. Then you just seem like a dick. Like, do you really hate your players that much?

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice graphics, was a bit confusing as to which way it was going to turn and that when you die it restarts from the beggining

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:33pm

@Grahhhhh ... believe us we wished too! But sadly right now there are no more. But we want to fix this issue in an PostLD Version. Thanks for playing!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:33pm

@arzi Thank you! :) glad you like it

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:36pm

@Decentsauce Thank you for playing and the feedback! Yeah time was to short to think about the sword screen enough. Good ideas with the movement and the "wait a little" before you go back time to check out your mistake - we will think about that.

Thanks!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:37pm

@vetch ... its just cool that you played our game!! we really appreciate it!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:43pm

@GhostBomb Thanks for your feedback! We know it turned out to be hard as hell. sadly we hadnt enough time to put more checkpoints into the game. We planning on Increasing the play-friendliness in a PostLD Version.

Yeah the sword screen - it was planned as a funny joke but turned out to be one of the frustrating moments in the game. Sorry that it hit you as well. We put a lot of Energy to make the Sword as glistening as it is haha. We should have made the Checkpoint instead.

and no - we dont hate our players - WE REALLY APPRECIATE EVERY PLAYER who gives our game a try! We are in an early stage of becoming a Game Developer and we will learn from that mistakes... promised!

Thanks again for playing!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44pm

@Wevel Thanks!! - there will be more checkpoints and a easier control scheme in an PostLD Version of the game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:20pm

The Linux download just gives me a black page...

Tell me on Twitter when you fixed that, I'll retry it then!

Ludic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice concept, but restart fro begining is frustrating! I love the visual

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Quite hard but overall very entertaining. Couldn't grab the sword, though... The pixel art was perfect!

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

I'M A NOOB, I NEED MORE CHECKPOINTS :') (at least once per screen)
(seriously I keep dying because I can't think fast enough on what button to press to get to that direction. a noob, I said)

That said, and while I didn't go far due to my noobness, this game is great and really fun to play. Graphics are stunning, audio fits well, I liked. gj!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Amazing art and music. As a Zelda fan I really love this. Idea is also good, but as others have said, checkpoints are far too rare.

Wumbo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I really liked Solid Snake; got the reference and thought it was pretty funny. However, I found it WAY too hard. Like it takes about 15 minutes to pass a part too hard. I don't know how you could easily fix that though...

Loved the music and art, because as a programmer, I really struggle with those things.

I would really like it if you could tell me how you made the game just start at whatever size you choose instead of opening up the choose window size thing in the beginning. I would really like to make sure everyone who plays my game has the same width-to-height ratio, but I don't know how to do that with Unity. Thanks!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I love this kind of art! The game was so promising but you have to start from the beginning when you die.. this ruined everything. Please fix this! I'm looking forward to the game full developed.

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Not easy, but I love it

broknecho says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Really challenging. I think the two button control does actually hurt the game as it can still be super fun being a puzzle adventure game. The delay when you hit a switch really throws your mojo off of knowing where your timing it on turning.

Overall great entry. Play with the controls and that timer to make a pretty sweet game!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:27pm

@rnlf thanks for reporting. as soon i've figured it out, i'll write you

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:29pm

@Ludic thanks! there will be a PostLD Version of the game with more checkpoints

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:31pm

@Gyfis thank you very much! we are glad that you enjoyed our game :) .. yeah about the sword, we thought it would be a cool joke :D

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:35pm

@Adreqi thanks for the feedback! yeah there could be more checkpoints .. but it's very difficult and not always possible to put them in each screen

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:36pm

@MemoryLeek thanks! this was our intention. we both love zelda games too :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:03pm

@Wumbo yeah! :D thank you very much!

we have already some ideas how to improve the controls and the feedback for the player about the movement and it should be a improvement for the whole game

and we thinking about to make a post mortem for our game, so we will inform you :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:06pm

@nunesbarbosa Thanks! we already planning a PostLD Version of this game :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:07pm

@Osaft thanks! :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:08pm

@broknecho thank you very much for the feedback! we already on it! :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:42am

Seeing Snake in the world of Zelda was interesting. Having no end to the snake made navigating the world a bit difficult and eventually lead to perfecting movements vs. exploration.

-Kaz

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

I'll give you credit for being ambitious, with special props for the audio work. The concept came across as somewhat unique, even if the constant underlined catering to 90s' kids was close to cringey levels.

And to reiterate the same complaint once again, this really ought to have a checkpoint in every room, considering the timing isn't very precise and leads to tons of fake difficulty. Having to replay 3+ rooms in a row all the time is nearly a game-breaking flaw here.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Beautiful pixel art in this. Nice music too. An interesting idea to mix Snake and oldskool zelda-style adventure games. I wish controlling it was a bit less clunky. The way the snake moves in blocks seems a little unpleasant to me. Also I don't think you necessarily needed to stick with the two button control theme, the game would have been less confusing with normal directional controls. Still though, impressive work overall!

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Really nice game. Awesome graphics!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Great game you made there!
I'd call it "Snake - Story Mode". It's a pitty my patience left me somewhere in the middle of the game, so I couldn't see the whole picture. It would be nice, if you had an easy mode, to help others rate more game faster.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The game is beautiful! But the gameplay has some issues that break the game like the snake delay to "walk" and the pauses for the dialogue and the buttons.
I'm sure that if the game was a bit less delayed I would have enjoyed it more!

Ulydev says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Incredible entry! I absolutely love the concept, and the graphics are beautiful! I would really like to see a more polished version of this. I checked your other games as well and you seem like you're a very talented artist :)

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Great graphics, audio and concept. The game seems very polished and is fun to play, but it's really hard. A lot of concentration is need to get to the next checkpoint, so more checkpoints would have been nice, maybe one per screen.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Good entry! The only complaint I really have is have to restart all the way back when I die. There are some check points, but I think it would have been nice to include a few more. Art and humor were fantastic in this one!

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:30am

Really nice polish, though game would have been much better with traditional arrow key controls and checkpoints per-screen.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:08am

i wanted to like this but starting over everytime was a killer for me - adding to my play again list after my rage is over

Didi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:32am

Beautiful tiles and funny dialog! Great work!

Supr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:57am

Pretty good graphics and sound, but the game is too hard for me.

personalurban says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Mac DL doesnt work, it recognises it as an app but cant open it.

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Cool concept but the input destroyed it for me. :(

Using A to turn left and B to turn right didn't feel natural to me. I was forced to always think where I wanted to move, to which direction I had to turn and which button I had to play. There was usually no enough time to do that.

Text boxes and switches just made it worse. While on a streak, moving was quite OK. But I usually had to turn pretty quickly after any of those, but I had already lost my flow, by then...

If input was reconfigurable (which is pretty easy to do in Unity), I could had used the gamepad shoulder buttons and it would map much more naturally to the action.

Other than that, I don't have much to say... Cool graphics and audio, and (again) neat idea.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Great and colorful

gallerdude says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Genius idea.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:18am

This is brilliant! Gameplay was interesting and deceivingly difficult, which was fine to me except for having to repeat all the screens since the last checkpoint. On the one hand that makes some part of the challenge, but I can see how it can become frustrating, too.

Despite this, I've really liked how you managed to blend to seemingly unrelated games with amazingly polished art and sound and some nice humorous bits. Well done!

Krafty says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:27am

Fun and silly game, but the controls were a bit difficult. Dying was really annoying!!! >=C Checkpoints might be good =P Great job! I really liked this :)

AboLD says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:11am

Nice Graphics, Good Job Dude

Allthebees says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:00am

Other people have picked up on the major problems so I won't repeat. Overall really good, the art is great, would definitely play a post LD version.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Nice looking game, but let down by poor difficulty balancing and bad controls.

The obvious fix for difficulty is to place more checkpoints, that would solve a lot of the issues. I'd say at least twice as many. You could probably make it a bit easier by having the game timed with the music too, and having audio cues (i.e. some sound every time the snake moved), although you have to do that well for it to work.

I played it twice, gave up at the first place at the forest part with two switches. Then the second time I played it got past there, only to not be able to jump because my keyboard doesn't seem to be able to detect control and alt being pressed at the same time. Not sure why you picked only those buttons, and chose to disable reconfiguring the controls. I tried to play with my mouse, and I managed to jump then, but it was still too hard, I would often turn instead of jump so I gave up.

Who made the music? Did someone on your team, or did you get it from somewhere else? It's pretty good, probably the best part of the game.

I liked this game and the idea when I first played it, but got a little grumpy after dying too much :P

I think the best way to not make mistakes like this with difficulty is to get other people to play your game during the competition. In fact, I'd say that you really can't make a good Ludum Dare game without getting other people to play it.

Another thing is often I would skip the text because I happened to move as the text came up.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Sorry, I couldn't finish … This could have been a neat game.
What killed it for me was just how tedious it became, almost immediately. (Of course I want to pick up all the gems, but that's beside the point! :) ) The checkpoints should've been more forgiving, or every level, honestly. Or there could be an option to go faster when you already did a level ten times.
Oh well, it's pretty.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Very nicely done.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I really liked this entry, I thought it was actually quite humorous. I didn't like hte controls at all, it felt backwards at times. But overall, the game was great.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:05am

Great use of theme and twist on a classic(two? of them). Very beautiful graphics that makes me feel nice and want to just wander around.

Checkpoints should be on any level or after the moving statues.
About controls. Maybe some quick quiet sound for move would help to keep up the tempo. It's hard to follow the beat especially with ambient music changing its pace.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:49am

we thank you everyone for that great feedback and advice! we appreciate it alot!

you're the best!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:32pm

One of the best entry I've seen this LD!
Awesome work : great idea, well polished game, nice music, beautiful art, lot of stuff and HUMOR! Congrats!
The only problem I found here was the lack of checkpoints but it seems you already know the issue.
Keep working on it, it's so cool!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:21pm

@LittleThor thank you very much! we are trying to finish the Post LD versions (with new controls and more checkpoints) as soon as possible :)

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Very good! The game is hard because of the controls, but i will wait the post-compo to play it. The forest part is very hard man!

Geti says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:56am

Really love this, unique idea executed about as well as id expect for LD :) controls and transitions could use some love as people have said, but thats the reality of it. Good work.

Crowbeak says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:53am

Man, by going for two button controls in addition to growing, you killed the fun factor of the game. It was hilarious and I wanted to see more of the humor, which is why I kept trying for as long as I did, but ultimately the game is frustrating to the point of being unfun. This needed up/down/left/right controls or at the very least checkpoints for every single screen.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:30pm

@DrZanuff thanks! we gonna release a Post LD version of the game today :)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:30pm

@Geti thank you very much!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:32pm

@Crowbeak yeah our game need very passionate gamer :D .. but we changed the controls and made the game much easier. we will release a Post LD version today :)

drludos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Nice entry, fun to play and with a lot of humor. The new takes on two old classic game works great, and the graphics are really awesome!

My only complaint would lies in the difficulty of the game: the two buttons controls make it quite hard to play (harder than the traditionnal 4 buttons snake), so it would be nicer for players to restart on the last screen than from a checkpoint, which can sometimes be very frustrating to restart 4 or 5 five screen because you mixed up "left" with "right" button.

Anyway, excellent entry overall, i love it!

Bacontree says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:37pm

A bit too hard in my opinion, but great graphics and music. A very well made game overall!

torcado194 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:55pm

i liked this! the graphics are amazing and it's very humorous :D i did get frustrated with it and quit though. nice job!

klianc09 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:44am

The difficulty wouldn't have been a problem, if there would have been more checkpoints and the jumping by pressing both at the same time would always work, but instead of jumping I often just turned and crashed into a wall. After retrying for the 20th time I didn't even bother with collecting the rupees anymore.
Besides that, really great zelda inspired graphics and story. Overall really well polished.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:01am

I wish to have more checkpoints. It is not convenient to play hard game when you want to see more other games on LD. I just have no time for retries. But I admit that your game looks great and promising.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Excellent game ! Everything is pretty neat ! Yet I have some suggestion which could make the game even better. Like somebody said, leaving a dialog may lead to some death. I feel there is not enough checkpoint but that is because i find the controls hard and i often loose because i confuse myself with them. It's great that you used both theme but in my opinion the game would be far more enjoyable if you used all directional arrows ( or provided a realtime feedback as to which button will make turn the snake right or left ). Anyway, overall, the game is the more polished i have played since the beginning of this ludum !

Zyow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:35pm

I love this game, the story is awesome! Graphics & sound are really cool too! Great job!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:54pm

thanks guys!!! for each comment and your so much much positive feedback!

we already released a first reworked version here http://wearetapehead.itch.io/long-long-a-snake-lies-in-the-past

feel free to check it out!

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Okay. I really wanted to like this game; the graphics were lovely, I thought you were onto a great concept and the humour was enjoyable at first (if a litlle cringey).

The lack of checkpoints was beyond cruel - dying after being taught how to jump resulted in jumping back to the 2-button puzzle, which was hard enough the first time around! Timing was also extremely difficult after pressing a button or exiting a cutscene - it was frustrating, to say the least.

Regardless, I think the idea was very sound and as I mentioned above I loved the graphics work. Keep it up - try to be a little more forgiving towards your players in future, though!

gelisam says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:01am

I gave up after learning how to jump because Long often turned instead of jumping, making it unplayable. That's unfortunate, I really wanted to play more!

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:53pm

I had an awesome time playing this game.

A tribute to the classics, neat pixelart, easy to learn the controls but hard to master, and the audio is just great!

Great job there guys, I love it :)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:39pm

@Mach60KAS and @gelisam thanks for the comments! yeah it became harder for other people than expected, but we reworked the controls and added more checkpoints. if you like, here is the post-LD version
http://wearetapehead.itch.io/long-long-a-snake-lies-in-the-past

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:41pm

@themadknights thank you very very much! we are very pleased :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Hilarious, fun, beautiful. Loved the dialogue. Fantastic game!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:04am

Great idea with far too much difficulty behind it. You needed to have an input buffer or something, since often it seemed like the game would skip inputs every now and then. The checkpoints were super poorly placed too.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:25am

Cool way to use the snake game and I liked the graphics!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Great graphics, good job!

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Cool idea, I like the zelda skin on top of snake mechanics. I would prefer having a checkpoint each screen, here its realy frustrating to hit a wall and start back again and again. Keep up the good work !

nosfer says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:27pm

As a fan of zelda i find it really funny :) But I could get past the sword. It's sometimes really hard to turn at right moment and also animations break the game rhythm. But overall nice entry, great graphics and music :)

Waynetron says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:35am

The controls make this unplayable. Looks really nice, though.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:44am

Amazing! All around awesome entry, great use of both themes.

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Beautiful game, very fun to play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]