Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

TRONZO

by Tykev - Jam Entry

This is TRONZO! It is a gold square.

Drag him around and place him precisely side by side to other objects to grow. As you proceed, you will have to create more difficult shape patterns.

This game is a skillbased geometric puzzle.

Don't forget to turn up the volume!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Innovation(Jam)4.29
#53Fun(Jam)3.96
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#113Audio(Jam)3.82
#132Mood(Jam)3.80
#160Graphics(Jam)4.12
#356Theme(Jam)3.84
#789Humor(Jam)2.06

Comments

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

I quite enjoyed this!
I had a really hard time for level three.
It was quite fun.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Seriously an amazing game this jam.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

FUN! I love the amount of polish that your game has. the little details like particle effects when you connect shapes really put everything together! Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Fun and innovative, great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16pm

This game has an amazing quality. It's super polished and interesting. So why is there no game over state or restart button? I literally tried every button on my keyboard.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Very good concept, I enjoyed this a lot!!! =)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

The game looks very polished. It looks great and it plays amazingly well. Sometimes though I died without knowing what I did wrong, I'm guessing I was going out of bounds.

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Lots of fun! Visually great. Level 3 quite frustrating - also seems to restart randomly sometimes?

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Very well done! Graphics and audio are awesome and a very innovative concept!
The only criticism I have is that the control felt a bit strange. Maybe my mouse movements could be more direct transferred to the square. But thats really criticism on a very high level. Great game!

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Very cool concept! At first I did not know that where I dragged the cube from mattered a lot, also a restart button in-game, a hotkey or auto-restart would've been nice. Overall well done!

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Interesting mechanics. Made it to level 11

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Great gameplay! Spent a lot more time on this game than nearly all the other games I have played so far. Can't really find any part of the game I'd criticize but an R key for a quick restart of the game would be great.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Nice game ! Went up to level 15 before stopping (gotta test more games :D)

You should do something to limit the number of particles on the screen at a time though, when multiple forms collide, the game lags hard.
I really like it, a very solid entry of this Ludum Dare !

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Good game. getting used to how to manipulate the shape took some getting used to but not painful by any means. Nice work.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Cool! Simple but very polished! The music is very fitting! Overall a great entry! Keep up the good work :)

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Very polished game! Great job. A bit difficult to grasp at the beginning it gets easier to control after some levels.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Superb! The physics-based controls are simple and enjoyable, and the game is very addicting. The menu design, music, and particle effects all help to give the game a strong visual style and as a result it feels incredibly polished! Great job!

luke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20am

really nice, i'm feeling like a artist http://prntscr.com/9eodpv

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

Almost perfect. Really innovative and fun. Awesome job!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:30am

Super fun! I loved the precision required and how well-tuned it all felt. Surgically swerving shapes into a big mass was awesome. The graphics, while simple, worked well and had a lot of little details, and the synthy dance music was great and kept the action groove going. Nice one!

csanyk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Rather good! Controls are a bit tricky. I felt like it was more of a struggle than it should have been to assemble the shapes, because I couldn't adequately control Tronzo. But this has real potential!

disdanes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26am

This was really fun, it was definitely challenging since all the pieces were moving and it was hard to align, nice job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:31pm

awesome! one of the best I've played so far. the concept is very creative, super engaging, one of my favorites, well done :D

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:54pm

I really liked the feel of the pieces connecting and the music was iun that good zone of being enjoyable and add to the mood, but not taking over and being too noticeable.

Gameplaywise I can't find the challenge, I like the attaching mechanic though.
Perhaps it's because of the graphics but doing a shooter where you pick up parts of the enemies ships when you destroy them came up in my head, asteroids type of gameplay

Dejvo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:04pm

nice and neat idea.

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:04am

I don't know what to say it's perfetc !

ajopart says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:04am

I really like the connecting animation ! Nice game and challenging !

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I really had fun playing this! Great take on the (growing) theme! 5/5

Trizek35 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Great game, when you think about it, it actually fits both of the two themes pretty well. It's really fun game, well done !

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Graphics is great, so is audio - the joint sound is cool :) I would appreciate total levels count. Thanks for making this, cheers from Brno :)

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:29am

I really liked this game. The art style was simple but beautiful and the gameplay felt tight.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Fun and innovative. Neat ++

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Super fun idea! my only concern is about lose. maybe if you have no chance to make the shape, the game need to say that you lose and start again. Except that, I truly love the game, hope to see it someday in playstore o something!

Akhera says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Great concept. I had a lot of fun with it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]