Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Squares

by Piepenguin1995 - Compo Entry

When bright squares start moving towards you with no sign of stopping, what else is there to do but spin around wildly and attempt to catch them?

Left arrow key navigates through menus, Right arrow key selects the menu entries, and both spin around the central square.

Scores are automatically uploaded to an online communal scoreboard. To set your submission name, go into the Settings menu and just type normally. This doesn't persist across program runs, unfortunately it has to be set each time.

The game itself is written in C++ using the SFML library, and the scoreboard server is written in Ruby using Sinatra and hosted on a Heroku instance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#76Fun3.83
#149Overall3.71
#317Theme3.92
#423Audio2.75
#475Mood2.96
#480Graphics3.08
#512Innovation3.12

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Nice game!

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Love the visuals!

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

I really enjoyed this gets so difficult after you add even just 1 other color. Love that you got global leaderboards. I missed that you could delete the "Guest" part. Great job!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31am

Simple but addictive. Nice work! I really like how you implemented your own scoreboard server!

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

Pretty fun game. I did think it was a little slow until I got to the three colors... but then it really picked up. Nice work.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Awesome game. The leaderboard is an awesome addition. Although I was kind of confused about the controls and how the GUI worked at first. Maybe a description in the menu or on the game page?

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42am

Very technically impressive. C++, cross-platform, networking. Fantastic. I only wish the beats were synced with the music!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

@et1337 Thanks, and I wish they were synced too! Unfortunately SFML doesn't allow you to change the tempo of music without also changing pitch, and I didn't have time to come up with a solution to work around that.

Saucy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37am

Simple AND fun! Great job!

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32am

Pretty addictive! Also nice graphic and gameplay!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

Simple and solids game.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very addictive. There's not much to the game, but what is there is implemented very smoothly. Well done.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20am

i liked the gradual increase in difficulty, but the music got really grating really fast

Giezu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29am

Simple and complete game, nice music, fun to play for a little while. I think it'll be good for mobile devices

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Nice game.
Audio is slightly annoying, but visual style is great!

Also, it would be nice if new colors were unlocked faster.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:48am

Simple but well done!
Nice concept! maybe will be even better used as music game!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:01am

Very nice! Almost got the top score. Almost :)
I muted the music on my second run, it got very boring very quickly. Also I wish the difficulty picked up a bit faster. Right now it's more of a concentration game, where making one mistake (likely) makes you lose all 3 lives, maybe it could be made faster, so it's more about … reflexes?
But otherwise very nice aesthetic, and nice multiplayer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]