Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lumi

by AwfulMedia - Compo Entry

Lumi is what I come up with when I have 12 hours to brainstorm, design, and code. I really wanted to get a game out this weekend, I just didn't have that much time.

Control an Entity of Energy that can jump between Light and Dark energies using the left and right mouse button (2 Button Controls!), respectively. All you have to do is match your entity's energy to that of the Beams of Energy that are flowing at you.

For each beam you pass, you gain a point. I created a goal system that gives you little "achievements" along the way to indicate how you are doing. Every now and then, based on your current score, the beams will get a boost of energy, making the game more difficult as time goes on. The game GROWS in difficulty, if you will.

The game is pretty easy by default, but I added a difficulty setting in the Options menu so you can adjust it as you please. I feel after hours of playing with it that the highest difficulty isn't quit hard enough, but I would like to know what you guys think.

What's the highest score you can get? How far can you get on the highest difficulty?

Controls:
LMB to switch to Light
RMB to switch to Dark

Tools:
Unity 5.3
Visual Studio 2015
Audacity
Audiotool.com
Bfxr.net
Photoshop CC
Illustrator CC

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Mood3.20
#345Audio2.94
#363Overall3.38
#412Fun3.24
#437Graphics3.18
#664Theme3.50
#745Innovation2.67
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Well done. I feel like there should be a bit more margin on the beams though.

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Hmm, you're probably right. I think it was a case of it getting too easy for me as development went on so I kept lowering the spacing.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Fun game, especially for such a time constraint. I'm really impressed with the quality of your UI!

EwChap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

Fun and straightforward concept. I like your background music as well, I wish it looped a bit cleaner but it had the right feel for the mood of your game.

tjxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

Very nice! The graphics were really nice.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48am

Great idea. Simple. Good audio. I found random easier than classic. Easy to mess up, but easy to try again.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27am

Nice game overall..
Good music, sfx and simple gameplay.
Like it! :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Lots of fun. I could see this working well as a mobile game, and it also wouldn't be out of place as a classic arcade game. Good stuff!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

This was pretty cool! My two pain points are the margin of error on alternating my color vs the beam felt a little too tight at times, and I wish that the pattern of the incoming beams changed up some. Even if you had 'chunks' of patterns that fed in randomly would change the dynamic a lot over just alternating colors. Feel like this game has some potential to it. Almost felt like it was on the verge of wanting to be a rhythm game.

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26am

There's definitely room for improvement when it comes to tweaking collision boxes, beam margins, and speeds. I haven't considered the idea of patterns.

I know that "Random" at times spits out too many of the same beams, I'm for sure going to handle it differently as I continue development.

The idea actually started off as a rhythm game, but I just didn't have the time to implement what I had in mind.

Thanks for the constructive criticism, deadpixelsociety!

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

"Try not to suck" Thanks for those helpful distracting messages :D. Agree about making the margins a bit bigger, I'm already so bad at these reaction games as-is :).

OS X version didn't work without proper permissions on the binary. Here's a fixed version:
http://files.benvista.com/ludumdare/34/Lumi-v021-OSX-AwfulMedia.app.zip
(can make it .rar if you insist. But at least .zip works OOTB)

And here's the virus scan analysis (please do compare the files yourself as well) :
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/13ba9c8c8d384b14244f5762543667914ebbcc15376efb62fb45d7abcbc41964/analysis/1450189520/

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Aha, the messages were meant to make you try to read them. I just hope they didn't turn out to be too much of a problem.

Thanks for fixing my OS X version. I haven't worked on a Mac in awhile and wasn't thinking about which archive format would be best. Thanks for that!

tanjent says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Simple game and idea. I think it is actually too difficult right from the start. I died almost instantly, and often when I had just passed a beam, it was very hard to know when you had "passed" it. My best was like 8 beams :) Reading the blurb about energy I was trying to charge my cloud and matching the width of the beams, not really sure if that was intended? Or is it just a binary pass/fail?

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

It's just a pass/fail system. I have a feeling based on some of the comments that the difficulty is defaulting higher than I meant for it to. The difficulty level can be changed in the Options menu, though.

The hit boxes for both the entity and the beams are quite a bit smaller than the sprites as well.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:14am

Pretty nice attempt, though I wish there was a bit more sense of success. Or maybe some sound would have really made this game very good — having the beat match when the "energy" flows through you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]