Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Button Zoo

by loveapplegames - Jam Entry

You control different species of animal in a fight for survival. Each animal can perform two actions, depicted by two buttons.

Written in WebGL. Plays well on Android.

This game consists of 3 minigames:

Farty Cows: Your cows are abducted by aliens as usual. Now they have their revenge by firing methane burps and farts at the aliens!

Vomcats: Your cats are attacked by humans. Defend yourself by vomiting on them.

Crappy Birds: Make the birds crap on the turd flinging monkeys!

All content was created within the LD Jam period. Credits:

Boris van Schooten: graphics, game concept, programming.

Val Jones: sound, game concept, some graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#36Humor(Jam)4.04
#79Fun(Jam)3.84
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#143Theme(Jam)4.12
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#639Graphics(Jam)3.20

Comments

JalapenosBud says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:14am

lol i like it. its a fun take on space invaders or whatever it is :P maybe add a score counter to create a sense of progress?

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:43am

This idea is really cool.

BigBrother says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:01am

Noice

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:08am

jejejejej

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Simple, but nice art. I really like it.

Djimpey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Simple and funny game, i didn't like the backround though because i think it was hurtful to look at. Overall i liked it :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

-------- PRE FINAL VERSION --------

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48am

---------- FINAL VERSION -----------

XenosNS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Hilarious. Not usually a fan of poop based games, but farty cows made me laugh.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:21am

That was something unique for me. Well done, but the game could look better. The sounds were amusing.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:12pm

nice game

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:31pm

This is great. The games were so much better than I thought they would be - it's not just a gag, there's some nice design here. I especially loved Vomicats, the jumping between platforms bit was a cool touch.

elizeu says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Very funny :)

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:29am

The graphics reminds me of an old Atari 2600 game. Lots of fun!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Soundeffects 10/10!
Well... I have never played anything like this before. And... It's... Surprisingly fun.
Really innovative game. Good work!

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Wow! One of the best so far... no bad things :D

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:28pm

The sound effects sometimes stop working but this was a pretty fun entry.

AlexaCol says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Really awesome ideas, liked all 3 games!

g12345 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:01am

This is a fun little game with basically 3 levels repeating.

Took me a very long time to figure out the controls, but in the end the game was very satisfying.

There is this strange possible bug with cows flying out of the top of the screen on the first level, but otherwise the game is pretty solid.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]