Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kill 'Mall

by kepons - Compo Entry

Become a giant serpent breaking into a peaceful mall and violently murdering people. Try to get the highest score while dodging your own tail and shelves! Made for both themes (Growing, Two button controls)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#38Fun3.96
#72Theme4.26
#90Overall3.85
#103Humor3.46
#114Graphics3.96
#248Audio3.15
#271Mood3.29

Comments

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25am

Very addicting game! And the blood splatter effect is the bomb!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I think the game would benefit greatly from either a time restriction or stronger AI in the shoppers, so they run away from you. As it stands, a perfectly viable strategy seems to be just aligning yourself horizontally and waiting for the shoppers to walk into you randomly.
The sound effects are a bit grating. and the background texture could use some work, but I've seen worse on both accounts.

The segmented snake looks rather nice, and the game's pretty fun, so not bad overall.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

P.S. - if you replace 'www' with 'dl' in your dropbox url, you can skip opening the dropbox UI.

thomz12 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Fun and simple game! Nice pixel art too!

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really cool art and particles effect!
Addicting and fun game. : )

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Awesome game, the controls feel really good; a nice twist on Snake!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I did not become the biggest snake but I was very rude so I'm counting it as a win.

This is good stuff, nice graphics, solid gameplay and use of both themes.

Well done. :)

kaynank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21am

Classic gameplay but well executed. Snake animations and blood splatters look very nice. The hitboxes of the shelves are somewhat confusing, and it's a bit too easy to scroll from one side to the other and immediately hit a shelf.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

The snake controls really well. One of the better left-right steering I've played so far. The fluidity in his movement is nice. Fun game play that fits the theme well. Great entry.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:42am

Great fun. Visuals and sounds blend well. Simple but addicting. Well done.

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29am

Controls well, feels nice! Cute graphics and audio. Overall a nice take on Snake. Might be cool if there were combo's you could get as you eat people within a certain period of time of each other.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

What a great take on the classic "snake"! Really quite fun and felt expandable into a full game. The "monster in a mall" theme was surprising but it added to the mood well.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:32pm

XD i started playing and i couldn't stop its very addicting :) Kudos

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:57am

Good pixel art. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Auroz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:43am

Very fun take on a snake-type game, I loved the graphic style especially.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I sure would not want to live in a town like that, if you know what I mean :D

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:57pm

New Generation Snake

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Not bad! The controls are so smooth! :-)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:45pm

For some reason, I find making people go splat very satisfying, its like catching a mosquito as is drinking from you. It could do with an antagonist, except from running into walls - otherwise its a nice twist on snake. The pavement made my eyes hurt so I couldn't play for too long.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:39am

(worked fine under wine, tested on OS X)
Charming snake clone, relaxing in a serial killer kind of way :)
Although the simplicity of it might appeal to some, I wished there was more to it. Could've been introduced in a different game mode. Enemies, combo with a timer, power ups, obstacles, different levels, etc.

yokcos700 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Kill (the)M all! Geddit?
A brilliant evolution on the old 'snake' formula. You've found an excellent way to make it into not a grid-based turn-based game, and it's just as fun as the original, perhaps more so. Love the blood splatter effect and the title. Although, I am not deceived by your lie. I can tell that I am in fact not killing anybody, that my supposed 'victims' are in fact being teleported elsewhere at the moment of potential death. I shall not be fooled!
My main complaint is that it's not a terribly deep game. I'm not kept interested in it past the first few minutes, for I am doing the same thing in the same situation repeatedly. The only difference is that I am larger, but past a certain size it doesn't really matter. Still, fun stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]